We expanded our streaming options last summer and fall with access to services and collections below. Look for Share and Permalinks when linking in syllabi. Contact Frances Nilsson if you have trouble linking.
Note that PBS has been withdrawing some popular titles from all streaming services, such as The Pill Makers: Women Who Make America and some religion titles. We continue to hold these titles on DVD at McQuade when available.
Academic streaming video database of 80,000+ multidisciplinary titles in many subject areas including business, counseling, health, history, and more.
Collection of 38,000+ streaming videos ranging from documentaries to educational films to instructional videos.
Curated streaming video collection of popular documentaries. You can only view titles that Merrimack currently licenses. To request a Kanopy video, search for the video on Kanopy and submit a “Request for Access” form or email us at mcquadeacquisitions@merrimack.edu
Robyn Lebowitz, a recent graduate of the MS in Health and Wellness Management program, and Librarian C.J. Wong were at Merrimack's 4th Fresh Check Day showing students how to hula hoop and promoting the library's Graphic Medicine Collection as well as Mindful McQuade Initiatives.
McQuade partnered with the Office of Wellness Education at a Self Care Fair in the Hub. McQuade's table featured books, kits, and games relating to mindfulness. Library staff members (Gabby Womack is pictured above) handed out free plants to students.
Want to know what's new? Sign up for our Wowbrary newsletter to get a weekly email with some of our newest acquisitions! If you like, you can customize your newsletter to your particular area of interest.
McQuade Library is thrilled to collaborate with nursing professors to work with FYE nursing sections and in the creation of video lessons for nursing students. Librarian CJ Wong is creating videos to help nursing students navigate the McQuade website, the Nursing Research Guide, and databases to complete their assignments.
McQuade's 17th Annual Tolle Lege Reception celebrating the scholarship of Merrimack's own faculty, staff, students, and alumni was a success! The 2020 speakers included: Allan T. Weatherwax (Provost), Michael Corcoran (Health Sciences), Katelyn Kurkul (School of Education & Social Policy), William McDowell (School of Science & Engineering: Biology), Lisa G. Perks (School of Liberal Arts: Communication & Media), Omer Unsal (Girard School of Business: Accounting & Finance), and William Wians (School of Liberal Arts: Philosophy). Authors from McQuade include: Kathryn GeoffrionScannell (Director), Katherine (Turcotte) LaFlamme (Instruction & Liaison Librarian), and CJ Wong (Instruction & Liaison Librarian).
Photograph taken by Kevin Salemme
If you are a 2020 author, please let your library liaison know, so your work will be included in our Tolle Lege collection. Please contact Frances Nilsson with questions.
Read On-The-Go with Libby and Overdrive
March 3, April 6, and April 24
12:00 - 1:00 PM
McQuade Library's ERC (2nd floor, yellow room)
Looking for a way to get fun books and audiobooks in the palms of your hands? Come to one of McQuade's monthly workshops and a librarian will show you the ins and outs of the Libby app by Overdrive. This app gives you free access to e-books, audiobooks, and magazines on your smartphone, tablet, and even your desktop. Bring your lunch and learn!
RSVP here: http://bit.ly/LibbyWorkshops
Top journals used at Merrimack over the last 12 months through January 2020. Click on above icon to see journal titles.
McQuade's Access/Reference Associate, Gabby Womack, presented at Mixed and Remixed: Politics of Passing and Feeling Like an Imposter in Your Own Communities, at Rhode Island College. She spoke on passing and the census, and then participated in a panel Q&A discussion. Congratulations, Gabby!
Check out McQuade's new Graphic Novels Collection! Located on the second floor (outside of the I.T. Office), the collection includes both fiction and non-fiction of your favorite graphic novels.
Looking for some popular books to escape into without the long waitlist? Browse our Hot Titles on the 2nd floor of the library. We have a diverse collection of fun and intriguing reads. Take a break and get lost in one of our Hot Titles this Spring!
Thanks to multiple grants, Merrimack students and local educators can now borrow educational robots and other STEM maker materials that teach kids valuable skills like computational thinking, coding, and problem-solving. Check out our STEM materials here. Merrimack faculty, students, and staff can request robots and ipads preloaded with accompanying apps using this form.
Also, take a look at McQuade's new Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) Guide.
The McQuade Library’s digital archive -- Merrimack ScholarWorks-- is a platform for collecting, distributing, managing, publishing, and preserving digital (electronic) information created by Merrimack College faculty, students, and staff.
Who can contribute content? Any college, department, center, or other unit of the College can participate as a community in the Merrimack ScholarWorks.
Why should I contribute research/scholarship/creative work to Merrimack ScholarWorks? Merrimack ScholarWorks provides increased visibility and impact for your work, allowing barrier-free discovery by tools such as Google Scholar. The repository also provides long-term, stable preservation of your content, and gives you more control over access to your own work. By depositing your work, you help to demonstrate the scientific, social, and economic value of Merrimack College to the local community and to scholars and researchers worldwide.
Please email scholarworks@merrimack.edu if you are interested in adding your work to MSW or if you have questions.
Overdrive now has 100s of magazines to read online or download. Titles are also listed and linked in the library catalog. To view an Overdrive magazine, use your the barcode on the back of your MACKcard and choose NOBLE as your library. See our Overdrive guide for more info.
