McQuade Messenger: Fall 2017

After an incredibly busy summer of renovation, the library is transformed.  A variety of new study furniture options have been added, and our friends in the Academic Success Center have beautiful new quarters on the third floor.  Kevin Salemme and the Media Center have moved into fabulous new studio space in Cushing Hall, and the lower level has been renovated to house books and offer some opportunities for silent study. 

Look for us to be asking you questions about how you like the changes, and what you'd like to see next!

--Kathryn Geoffrion Scannell, Director, McQuade Library

October 16-20, 2017 was Merrimack's first All Abilities Access Week, co-sponsored by McQuade and the Office of Accessibility Services.  Events included:

• MATERIALS A display of library materials dealing with (dis)ability, diversity, access, and inclusion greeted library visitors on the first floor all week.
• MOVIE NIGHT The film "Silver Linings Playbook" was shown on Wed Oct 18, with a discussion led by Director of Accessibility Services Jodi Rachins.
• MACKTalks Each day of the week at lunchtime a different Merrimack student delivered a TEDTalk-style presentation. Students of many different abilities were featured.

The week was the first in a series of events and programs planned over the next two years, made possible by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

Team McQuade unveiled a fun and fresh "Top 10 Things FYE students need to know about McQuade Library" Buzzfeed list to all FYE students!

During the week of October 9th, all FYE students browsed McQuade's FYE library guide and set-up library passwords to gain access to the library's resources from off-campus.

 McQude Library is now accepting submissions for our 2018 Tolle Lege collection! 

Any faculty, staff, and students who have published work during the 2017 year are encouraged to submit a list of their publications to:

• Frances Nilsson (nilssonf@merrimack.edu) 
• Michaela Keating (keatingm@merrimack.edu)

A reception with refreshments and guest speakers will be held to honor all this year's contributors on March 8, 2018. 

Sue Cusack and Jacy Edelman from Lesley University's STEAM Learning Lab facilitated an excellent workshop about making in education on Thursday, September 28th in McQuade's ERC.  20 participants engaged in a MaKeyMaKey challenge and a Nature Bot activity.  All participants enjoyed this hands-on workshop and experienced the power of inquiry-based challenges that inspire deep learning, creativity, tinkering, and play.

McQuade's STEMsmart grant project provides Merrimack's teachers-in-training with a suite of STEM tools and resources, along with hands-on professional development experiences that will help them successfully integrate STEM activities into the classroom.

This grant was brought to Merrimack College with federal funds provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and administered by the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

Taylor McNeil is a junior majoring in Human Development/Elementary Education and is the new student assistant for the Education Resources Collection (ERC).   Welcome Taylor!

McQuade Library has joined the Green Team to host environmental film series every other Wednesday night at 7 PM in the Alden classroom on the 3rd floor of McQuade Library.  Snacks are provided!  

Change is coming, share your ideas...

• take a leadership role in library development

• gain experience with goal setting to put on your resume

• provide valuable input in decision-making processes in the library that will influence the campus community

• be a library ambassador in your major

Contact: Michaela Keating or C.J. Wong

McQuade Library is offering plants for residence halls and offices while supplies last.  Students and staff may stop by the Research Center to "check out" a plant.  There is no expectation that plants are returned, but plant parents are welcome to drop their plant back at the Research Center during extended breaks or summer vacation.  The plants are offspring or cuttings from current Research Center residents and were potted in recycled mugs.

Don't miss Kevin Salemme's "Last Lecture" Nov 14 at 7:30 in Cascia Hall. The Last Lecture series, sponsored by the Honors Program and Omicron Delta Kappa, offers a faculty member the opportunity to give the lecture of a lifetime.

Librarian Kadie Turcotte, who was our Reference/Access Services Associate, is now our Instruction/Liaison Librarian (Graduate Programs).  Kadie has her Bachelor's degree in Legal Studies/Political Science from UMass Lowell and her Master's Degree in Library and Information Science from Simmons College.  She is available to help our graduate students on Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday evenings from 2pm-10pm and works during the day on Wednesdays and Thursdays.  Stop by the Research Center to congratulate her on her new position!

AccessScience and AccessEngineering Library from McGraw Hill with reference articles for all the science disciples including videos and animations as well as curriculum maps. The AccessEngineering Library includes many engineering handbooks such as Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, and Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers as well as Schaum's Outlines.  It also includes related tools and books on business skills, operations management, and makerspaces.

Librarians Catherine (CJ) Wong and Lyena Chavez welcomed new international students to campus with a library tour and introduction to online resources.  

Did you know McQuade Librarians taught over 40 library workshops in various courses during the month of September?  McQuade Librarians continue to collaborate with faculty to ensure that students are sharpening their research skills during their time at Merrimack.  Here's what's happening in October:

Harvard Business Review's J.M. Olejarz on Liberal Arts in the Digital Age. 

There are 10 new computers outside the Research Center.  Check them out on the 2nd floor of McQuade.

Coming soon to these workstations:

This fall, McQuade hosted an Information Carnival for Merrimack's 800+ incoming freshmen. Students toured the ERC, the Help Desk, and the Research Center. As a fun extra, students were encouraged to participate in games, contests, and hula hooping, all while learning about everything the library has to offer.

First-year student, Christopher Urena, was the winner of McQuade's Guess How Many Kisses "Kissing Booth" at the Fall Information Carnival. 

Congratulations, Christopher, and welcome to Merrimack!