Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

McQuade Messenger: Summer 2020

McQuade Library News

Congratulations, Seniors!

undefined

We are proud to share that seven of our student library assistants are graduating this May! We look forward to seeing them all again and to what their futures hold.

Research Center Assistants

McQuade Library employed two Research Center Assistants this year.  Seniors Melissa Lawson and Kristen Scheeler provided research assistance to the Merrimack College community, created library promotional materials, helped with collection development, and more.  We're thrilled to report that both these bright students will be pursuing master's degrees in library science!  The Research Center librarians enjoyed working with them and we wish them the best with their librarian training!
 
Melissa Lawson
Being a Research Center Assistant improved my skills as a reference librarian and, most importantly, as someone who connects with students, faculty, and staff throughout their projects. I enjoyed every project that came my way and found that engaging with these projects, especially those which are devoted to a student's passion, has really helped me feel confident in my choice to pursue a higher degree.  After leaving Merrimack, I am pursuing an M.A in Library Science at the University of Wisconsin- Madison. ~Melissa Lawson
 
 
undefined
My experience as a Research Center Assistant at McQuade Library has been amazing! I have loved being able to help students find resources and answer all their research questions. I also had the opportunity to work on a project to help create and build a more diverse story collection, which I really enjoyed. Through my experience as a Research Center Assistant I have been able to solidify my goal of becoming a librarian. This experience really showed me that the library was where I needed to be. 
After graduation I will be attending Simmons University for my Master's Degree in Library and Information Science. Although I am still unsure of what type of library I would like to work in, I am confident that I will use the skills I have learned as a Research Center Assistant at McQuade wherever I am.  ~Kristen Scheeler

 

Accessing Library Resources Off Campus

How can I access McQuade’s Library Resources online?

To access McQuade's online resources, it is best to find resources through the library's website.
Here off-campus users will be taken through the library's authentication/proxy system and be asked to enter their Merrimack username and password, the same you would use for MyMack or Blackboard. 

Off-campus login page for McQuade Library databases

If you have problems contact a librarian by emailing mcquade@merrimack.edu or if open, use the Chat box at the library's homepage or on most research guides.

Off Campus Access

Submit Your Research to Merrimack ScholarWorks

The McQuade Library’s digital archive -- Merrimack ScholarWorks-- is a platform for collecting, distributing, managing, publishing, and preserving digital (electronic) information created by Merrimack College faculty, students, and staff.

Who can contribute content?  Any college, department, center, or other unit of the College can participate as a community in the Merrimack ScholarWorks.  

Why should I contribute research/scholarship/creative work to Merrimack ScholarWorks? Merrimack ScholarWorks provides increased visibility and impact for your work, allowing barrier-free discovery by tools such as Google Scholar. The repository also provides long-term, stable preservation of your content, and gives you more control over access to your own work. By depositing your work, you help to demonstrate the scientific, social, and economic value of Merrimack College to the local community and to scholars and researchers worldwide.

Please email scholarworks@merrimack.edu if you are interested in adding your work to MSW or if you have questions. 

BrowZine Nursing

Nursing Resources

McQuade Library is thrilled to collaborate with nursing professors to work with FYE nursing sections and in the creation of video lessons for nursing students.  Librarian CJ Wong is creating videos to help nursing students navigate the McQuade website, the Nursing Research Guide, and databases to complete their assignments.  

Online Science Teaching Resources

Librarian C.J. Wong created an Online Science Teaching Resources LibGuide with many links to virtual lab resources and Open Educational Resources.

Relaxing Virtual Animal Events

Watch librarian Gabby Womack's cats Luna and Kcup play with their toys! 

Watch Joyce Hamlin and her family play with their therapy dogs while she answer questions!

Quarantine Cooking

undefinedundefined

Keep Learning with McQuade Library!

McQuade's Virtual Library is always open and our staff continue to support remote learning in many ways.   Librarians have connected students with electronic textbooks, helped faculty use databases and streaming media, offered numerous virtual library workshops and research appointments, produced videos, troubleshooted remote access issues, and more.  

Librarians created a Continuity of Library Services Guide which offers Information on getting library books, articles, and research help while the campus is closed.

Special Sources available through May or June

Search and Explore Online in May and June

Publishers and library vendors have made select resources available during Spring 2020 college closures.  Most should be searched individually as they are not discoverable in MACKsearch. A complete list is on our Spring 2020 Library Resources Guide.

The following ebooks and other sources will be available through either May 25 or June 15.
Contact mcquade@merrimack.edu if you need something beyond these dates.

Available through May 25:

Available through June 15:

McQuade's Streaming Videos

Libby

Step 1 - Download and install free software 

As a first step, you need to download and install the free software.

Install the Libby app from the app store on your Android, iOS (iPhone/iPad), or Windows 10 device. Or, visit libbyapp.com in your Chrome, Firefox, Safari,
or Edge browser.

Step 2 - Find your library and sign in

  In Libby, follow the prompts to find your library and sign in with a valid library card. For McQuade Library patrons, your library will be listed as NOBLE (North of Boston Library Exchange).

Step 3 - Check out, download, and enjoy

Search this app by tapping "Library" on the bottom left corner of your device and typing your desired title into the "Search for A Book" bar. If you prefer to browse, scroll down on the app or tap "Explore" on the right side of the screen.

Once you find your book or magazine, you can tap on it and tap "borrow." If the title you are searching for is already checked out, you can press "place hold." The calendar icon below this will let you know how long the estimated wait time is. 

Step 4: Look at your "shelf"

Borrowed titles appear under Shelf. Loans and downloads to the app automatically when you're on Wi-Fi, so you can read them when you’re offline.
From your Loans, you can:

  • Tap Read With... to choose whether you'd like to open a book in Kindle (U.S. libraries only) or Libby.
  • Tap Open Audiobook or Open Magazine to start reading or listening to that title.
  • Tap Manage Loan to see options like Renew and Return.

 

For more tips on how to use the Libby app, watch tutorial videos at Libby Academy. For more help with the Libby app visit OverDrive Help or  email the Reference/Access Services Librarian Gabby Womack at womackg@merrimack.edu.

Libby Help - Frequently Asked Questions 

Finding Ebooks at McQuade

Using Google Scholar

Summer Reads

Flipster

For 2020 Merrimack College will have 10 popular magazines available online - via the Internet or your favorite IOS or android device.  Browse and view online, print articles from your desktop, or click the menu within the issue to download articles and issues for off-line and app viewing. Look for the free Flipster app in the iTunes app and Google Play Store sites.

 Come back to this page to download more issues. For more tips, see the FAQ

More titles are available via