A look at some of the work McQuade staff have been doing this fall--and some previews of what's to come! In addition to what you see here, as of Oct 13 McQuade librarians and staff had taught 85 workshops, helped with 373 questions, conducted 80 consultations, checked out 2,900+ items, added 180+ titles, and reached 175+ people with movies, lectures, and talks. What can we do for YOU?
Kathryn Geoffrion Scannell
You can still use your library barcode on the back of your MACKcard for database logins through the summer, but test your username/password and let us know if you have problems: mcquade@merrimack.edu
We are pleased to announce that first year student, Lauren Hamilton, was our 1st place winner in the Passport to Success Raffle! Lauren went home with a $50 gift card to the Merrimack Bookstore. Congratulations, Lauren!
Come enjoy a movie, socialize, and learn about environmental issues at the same time! All are welcome to attend. Light refreshments will be served.
McQude Library is now accepting submissions for our 2019 Tolle Lege collection!
Any faculty, staff, and students who have published work during the 2018 year are encouraged to submit a list of their publications to:
A reception with refreshments and guest speakers will be held to honor all this year's contributors on February 7, 2019 from 4-6pm at the Writer's House.
Librarian CJ Wong had fun bringing baked goods from Homeboy Industries to the first day of her Women in STEM: Race to Save the Planet FYE course. Homeboy Industries is a gang intervention organization led by Father Gregory Boyle, Merrimack's Fall 2018 convocation speaker. Homeboy Industries provides hope and optimism for those seeking a way out of gang life to start anew.
To read more about Homeboy Industries, take a look at their site: https://www.homeboyindustries.org/
The school year has begun and we are excited to introduce you to our new friend, Library Luna! Learn more about our library resources with Luna and follow us on our social media pages for everything McQuade Library.
Librarians CJ Wong and Kadie Turcotte participated in this fall's Fresh Check Day, an event on campus to promote the awareness of mental health. The McQuade librarians showcased the mindfulness kits (chakra, meditation, sound healing, yoga, and creative healing), vitamin D lamps, graphic medicine novels, and mindfulness based books and games. They also promoted McQuade's meditation space, the adopt-a-plant program, and hula hooping for stress relief.
Author Joe Vogel will sign copies of his new book "Stranger Things and the 80s: The Complete Retro Guide” at McQuade Library. Wear your best 80’s or Stranger Things costume and enjoy a waffle! Free signed books while supplies last.
Co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost
Library staff welcomed over 1,100 first-year students (the largest class yet!) at this year's Passport to Success Orientation. Students traveled to destinations around the library and went on excursions to learn about the non-traditional items McQuade has to offer. Students learned how to hula hoop and took pictures in a travel-themed photobooth!
Librarians Lyena Chavez, C.J. Wong, and Kadie Turcotte had the pleasure of welcoming international undergraduate and graduate students to McQuade Library. Students toured the library and learned about resources to support their coursework.
Once again we were delighted to team up the Accessibility Services Office to co-sponsor "All Abilities Awareness Week". This year's theme was "I am Not Invisible" . Presenters spoke to the issues of navigating life with a disability that may not be apparent to others and the fact that the needs of persons with disabilities are sometimes 'invisible' to planners.
Over 120 students, faculty, and staff attended the various events.
Keep an eye out for our upcoming displays on the first floor of McQuade Library!
With input from faculty we have made some some changes to our streaming video resources. As of July 1, 2018 we have access to the following:
Training videos, reenactments, and therapy sessions conducted by renowned counseling professionals. Colleciton includes films in emerging areas including mindfulness and cyberbullying.
Collection of 38,000+ streaming videos ranging from documentaries to educational films to instructional videos.
Curated streaming video collection of popular documentaries. You can only view titles that Merrimack currently licenses. To request a Kanopy video, search for the video on Kanopy and submit a “Request for Access” form or email us at mcquadeacquisitions@merrimack.edu
The McQuade Library’s digital archive -- Merrimack ScholarWorks-- is a system for collecting, distributing, managing, publishing, and preserving digital (electronic) information created by Merrimack College faculty, students, and staff.
Who can contribute content? Any college, department, center, or other unit of the College can participate as a community in the Merrimack ScholarWorks.
Why should I contribute research/scholarship/creative work to Merrimack ScholarWorks? Merrimack ScholarWorks provides increased visibility and impact for your work, allowing barrier-free discovery by tools such as Google Scholar. The repository also provides long-term, stable preservation of your content, and gives you more control over access to your own work. By depositing your work, you help to demonstrate the scientific, social, and economic value of Merrimack College to the local community and to scholars and researchers worldwide.
Contact Librarian Michaela Keating if you have questions.
