McQuade Library Student Worker Training Guide

• Call numbers A-H are on the second floor.
• Call numbers J-Z are on the lower level.
• The Augustinian Studies collection is on the second floor in the Quiet Study Room.
• The Tolle Lege collection is on the second floor in the Quiet Study Room.
• The Graphic Novels collection is in the lower level at the bottom of the stairs near the elevator. 
• YA (young adult) books are temporarily housed outside the bathrooms on the lower level.
• Picture Books are temporarily housed on the lower level (behind the wall where the graphic novels are)
• The Wellness Collection is located outside the Graduate Center
• Hot Titles are located on one of the first floor display tables.
• A small collection of LGBTQ+ books are located on the first floor in the bump out nook
• A small collection of Voting books are located on the first floor near IT
• The Seed Library and a small collection of related books can be found on the lower level near the elevator. 

• When books or other library materials are returned, they need to be checked back in and organized on the pre-shelving carts next to the service desk. Please put books in call number order. 

• Shelving a book means to put that book back where it belongs. All books in McQuade are organized by using the Library of Congress Classification System. Books in sections A-H are located on the second floor, while sections J-Z are located on the lower level. Books that belong to the Augustinian Studies Collection are located in the quiet study room on the second floor. 

• While in the stacks, if you find books out of order, please correct the arrangement and straighten the books on the shelves as time permits. If you find a particularly messy area that you’re unable to fully correct, please take note of the exact location and inform a supervisor when you return to the service desk. 

• Shelving books correctly is important. Having the stacks in the best possible order helps us in quickly and efficiently locating items for our patrons. 

Shelf-reading is reading each call number (spine label) to ensure that the books are properly shelved. Move through the stacks from left to right and top to bottom. Accuracy while shelf reading is important. When you shelf-read, you will go to a designated stack area and put the books in the correct call number order. The book rows should be made neat by pulling them forward a bit and tightening them up if the rows are loose. Please avoid making rows too tight, which will make it difficult to take a book out or place it back.