The semester's off to a great start with many new faces on campus. There's a lot of helpful info in this edition of the Messenger, especially for new faculty. Remember you can call, text, or email us here any time if you don't see the answer you seek!
We're continually working to update our resources both physical and digital--you'll notice a new look to our guides (like this one) and our Journal Finder portal. Stay tuned--we're working with IT to develop a way for you to use your Merrimack email credentials for your library account--more on that soon.
Happy Fall! The campus is so beautiful in this season--enjoy it!
Titles relating to American Musical Theatre and Film were purchased for McQuade Library from funds that were donated in memory of Ellenora D. O'Brien, mother to Robert O'Brien, McQuade Library's Operations Manager. Mrs. O'Brien, who died in June 2014, was supervisor of Ashe Center at Merrimack from 1970-1992. She came from a family who had great interest in music and the theater. She especially enjoyed the many students and staff she got to know during her tenure here. She cherished the many good memories after she left here in 1992. It is fitting these new acquisitions will benefit students for years to come.
Anna Swenson is a junior majoring in Human Development/Elementary Education and is the new student assistant for the Education Resources Collection (ERC). WELCOME ANNA!
Need a book to cozy up with this fall? Try checking out McQuade’s new and improved Hot Titles Collection, located around the fireplace on the first floor of the library. This collection includes a wider range of genres and titles than our previous McNaughton selection, and includes both fiction and nonfiction materials. All of our Hot Titles can be identified by a red dot on the book's spine.
Enjoy watching Game of Thrones? Why not explore George R.R. Martin’s Westeros and Essos in A Song of Ice and Fire series? Go on a journey and discover all that HBO left out! -We even have a The World of Ice and Fire, a wonderfully organized book that takes you behind the scenes of the Seven Kingdoms!
Interested in how To Kill a Mockingbird or Go Set a Watchmen came to be? Want to dive deeper into the life of author Harper Lee? Then take a look at The Mockingbird Next Door by Marja Mills. This nonfiction work explores Lee’s upbringing and life in the deep south of Alabama, as well as Mills’ friendship and experience working with Lee. This is a must read for all those wanting just one more adventure in Maycomb!
Don’t have time to get wrapped into a long novel? Fear not- we have something for you too! Toni Morrison’s God Help the Child may just be what you’re looking for. Coming in at just under 200 pages, Morrison takes her readers on a provocative journey detailing the intertwined lives of adults and children, explaining that “what you do to children matters. And they never forget.”
If you’re more into graphic novels, rather than your traditional book of text, we have that too! Check out Guardians of the Galaxy: Guardians Disassembled, the third volume in the Guardians of the Galaxy series. In this installment, get prepared to meet two new guardians- Venom and Captain Marvel. Go on an adventure with them to discover where in the universe Star-Lord is. Guaranteed fun for anyone looking for an intergalactic exploration!
If you are doing a long-term research, such as for a senior thesis or dissertation, it's helpful to use a citation manager to track your sources and format your citations. With several free options now available, McQuade Library decided to cancel our subscription to RefWorks. If you have not done so already, we recommend you download your citations from RefWorks as soon as possible and transfer them to another option. See below.
Free options include Zotero and Mendeley, as well as paid alternatives such as Papers. You can find information about free citation managers and tools on the Library’s Citation Tools page. You can compare and contrast these tools using this comparison chart.
You can transfer your citations by exporting them from RefWorks and importing them into a new citation manager. McQuade has prepared guides for exporting from RefWorks and importing into either Mendeley, or Zotero.
RefWorks offers several export options that you can use with other programs. These options (available in Tools/Export References) are:
Bibliographic Software (EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager). This option saves your citations in the RIS Format and can be imported into Mendeley and most other citation managers.
BibTeX – RefWorks ID. Saves the database in the file format for use with the LaTeX document preparation system.
Refworks Tagged Format. This option is recommended for transferring your citations to Zotero, which has the option to import this format.
Contact a librarian if you need help with transferring to and using a new citation manager, either by making a research appointment or contacting the McQuade Research Center at firstname.lastname@example.org or 978-837-5177.
Did you know that McQuade Librarians create, curate, and publish research guides? Librarians use Libguides (a popular knowledge sharing system) to create multimedia content, share information, and promote library resources to the college community. Guides are created for specific courses, subject areas, and to support campus events and programs. These guides usually contain recommended books, ebooks, databases, and relevant websites.
These guides continue to serve our community well as students engage in resource-based projects, assignment, and activities. An average guide get hundreds of hits a month. Just in the month of September, our popular How to Cite Sources page was consulted over 1500 times and our excellent BUS1100 guide received well over 2,000 hits.
On August 13, the McQuade Librarians organized a day of lesson and resource sharing with other academic librarians from NOBLE, as a way to work together to align instruction programs with the new ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education. This was a day of active learning and collaboration, where all participants were asked to share at least one lesson plan and corresponding handouts. Finding creative ways to reach our students is not always easy, so this was a great opportunity to see what other librarians were doing in the classroom. This workshop was designed as a starting point in implementing the new Framework, where colleagues could work together in a fun, stress-free environment.
The morning began with keynote speaker, Melinda Malik, Head of Reference and Instructional Services at Saint Anselm College, and recent graduate of the M.Ed. in Higher Education program at Merrimack College. Melinda discussed ways to apply learning theories to our instruction programs and really got all participants involved with fun activities. After Melinda’s engaging discussion, the new framework was discussed in more detail. This was followed by a share out of lesson plans. The purpose of this free, day-long workshop was to share tips and tricks, as well as to really dig into the new framework.
From September 27-October 3, we celebrated Banned Books Week by bringing attention to books that were banned or challenged in schools or libraries around the world.
This year, librarians partnered with the Media Center and students to create Virtual Read-Out videos from some of the most commonly banned books. Now in it’s fifth year, the Virtual Read-Out program features short videos of readers from around the world talking about or reading an excerpt from a banned book. Check out the Virtual Read-Outs created by members of the Merrimack Community on the McQuade Library YouTube channel.
First Year Engineering students came to McQuade Library to research the history of the Moseley Iron Arch Bridge located at Merrimack College. Students learned how to find patents, historical pictures, books, and journal articles relating to the Moseley Bridge. In addition to honing their information literacy skills, the engineering students worked in teams to create a poster about the bridge as their final product.
Each department has a librarian liaison. Your librarian can help you plan classes to increase your students' information literacy skills, show you some resources that would be useful to your students, and help you put your work in Merrimack ScholarWorks.
Back: Lyena Chavez, Education and Humanities Liaison, C.J. Wong, Science and Engineering Liaison
Front: Frances Nilsson, Business and Economics Liaison, Elizabeth Sarkodie-Mensah, Social Sciences, Humanities and Graduate Programs Liaison, Michaela Keating, Merrimack ScholarWorks Liaison
Librarians continue to challenge Merrimack students to incorporate higher-order thinking skills into their research processes. Instruction librarians have been using ACRL’s new Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education to improve workshops by teaching “big idea” research concepts as well as skills.
The Framework identifies six frames or portals through which to view information literacy:
Each frame offers knowledge practices and dispositions that the information literacy student should develop over time. The Framework is intended to facilitate dialogues on how librarians and faculty can improve students' understanding of not only how to find information, but also how to evaluate and contextualize it in this increasingly complex information landscape. McQuade librarians continue to use the new Framework to shape and rejuvenate their instruction and reference interactions to ensure that Merrimack students become information literate, lifelong learners.
McQuade Library helped welcome the class of 2019 to Merrimack in a variety of ways. During orientation, all first year students took part in a QR Code walking tour with their new iPads so they could learn about the resources and services available in the library building. A FYE Course LibGuide was created to help orient students to using the library resources with their iPads. It also provided resources related to the common readings and information about the academic centers and support at Merrimack. Librarian Lyena Chavez teamed up with First Year Academic Counselor Sara Quagliaroli to create the week three session materials on academic preparation. In addition, Librarian C.J. Wong is teaching a section of FYE with McQuade Library student worker, Aggie Vazquez.
Amy Byrne from Campus Kitchen Project and C.J. Wong from McQuade Library.
McQuade Library collaborated with Farmer Dave's Community Supported Agriculture to provide fresh, locally grown vegetables and fruits to the Merrimack College community. Farmer Dave provided 20 weeks of bright green and yellow boxes filled to the brim with wonderful lettuces, tomatoes, corn, root vegetables, and much more. CSA members had a great time learning new recipes and eating healthy this summer! Any shares that were not picked up were donated to Beverly Bootstraps and the North Reading Senior Center during the summer weeks. This fall, with the start of the Campus Kitchen Project, the unclaimed shares have been picked up by the Campus Kitchen volunteer students to be made into meals for Lazarus House.
Salad made with vegetables from Farmer Dave's.
Hundreds of pounds of fresh fruits and vegetables were donated to Beverly Bootstraps this summer from Merrimack College CSA members!