MKT 2205 - Principles of Marketing

What is an Annual Report?

An annual report is a document that public companies must provide annually to shareholders that describes their operations and financial conditions. In addition, public companies must file annual financial reports to the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Private companies are not required to file annual financial reports to the SEC (form 10-K) and therefore their annual reports are not typically made publicly accessible.

How to Find Annual Reports?

Database Search Tip:

Use the keywords "Market Share" or ranking along with industry descriptors and your company name or your company's ticker symbol.

If these sources don't have what you need:

• Compare your organization's revenues with total national or local revenues from US Census sources.

Still having trouble?  Consult the librarian profiled on this guide.

Company Profiles can answer the following:

1. Is the company Public or Private?
2. Where is the company located (United States or International)?
3. Is the company a Subsidiary or is it the Parent company? 
4. What is the company and how did it get started (company history)?
5. If the company is a Public Company, what is the ticker symbol and what exchange is it listed in?
6. What Industry does the company fall into?
7. Who are the Executive Officers?
8. Financial Information (mainly for Public companies)

Database Resources:

What does the company say about its social responsbility and sustainability initiatives?

1. SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities Threats) analyses for individual companies can be found in Marketline Reports located in the Business Source Premier Database. 

• Select "Company Profiles" at the very top of the page.
• Browse the alphabetical list or search by company name.

2. Alternatively, search for articles in Business Source Premier (BSP) that discuss trends in your company's industry

• Example searches include:
  • Entertainment and industry and threats and (America or "United States")
  • Automotive and industry and (trends or forecast or projections)

Database Resources:

Internet Resources

• Company Website

1. Search Tip: Look on the company homepage for a link to investors or financial information.
2. Use the search feature, if available, on the company's website and search for "executive officers

Private Companies and Financial Data:

"A private company is a company held in private hands. This means that, in most cases, a company is owned by its founders, management, and/or a group of private investors. The public isn't privy to its business." (From Investopedia Private vs. Public Company: What's the Difference?).

How Does this Impact Your Research?

• Private companies are not required to disclose financial information to the public. 
• Private companies do not need to appeal to shareholders, and are not required to publish their financial statements. 
• It may be not easy to find detailed financial data for Private companies.  You may need to rely on a Company Profile or you may need to contact the company directly for financial data

Database Resources:

Internet Resources:

• Company Websites

1. Search Tip: Look on the company homepage for a link to investors or financial information.
2. Use the search feature on the company's website to find financial information.

Public Companies and Financial Data:

"A public company is a company that has sold a portion of itself to the public via an initial public offering (IPO), meaning shareholders have a claim to part of the company's assets and profits. Public disclosure of business and financial activities and performance is required of public companies." (From Investopedia Private vs. Public Company: What's the Difference?)

How Does this Impact Your Research?

• Public companies are required to file annual financial reports with the Security and Exchange Commission (SEC).
• Financial data for public companies is much easier to find.
• SEC filing are available through the databases and internet sites listed below.

Database Resources

Internet Resources

What is a Ticker Symbol?

• A stock symbol or ticker is a unique series of letters assigned to a security for trading purposes. Stocks listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) can have four or fewer letters. Nasdaq-listed securities can have up to five characters.
• Symbols are just a shorthand way of describing a company's stock, so there is no significant difference between those that have three letters and those that have four or five. Stock symbols are also known as ticker symbols.  (From Investopedia Stock Symbol (Ticker Symbol): Abbreviation for a Company's Stock.)
• Find a Company's Ticker Symbol in their Company Profile.

Database Resources:

Internet Resources: