Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services for Graduate Students

A guide to services and resources, specifically designed for graduate students at Merrimack College, to successfully navigate McQuade Library

McQuade's Streaming Video Collections

McQuade's Major Streaming Video Collections

Streaming videos can also be found in EBSCOhost, ProQuest and Gale collections.
Note:  Films on Demand collection expanded beginning February 1, 2021.

Streaming FAQs

  • What streaming collections does McQuade subscribe to?
    • Kanopy is NOT the only distributor offering streaming video. See "McQuade's Streaming Collections" box above and additional info on this guide.  You may also go to the Library's Databases A-Z List and see list of media here
  • Is the film I want to include in my course available for streaming?
    • Most films are searchable in our online catalog.  Librarians can double-check or are happy to search for particular titles for you.
  • I don't think McQuade has current access to the film I want to show.  How can I double-check and also recommend purchasing?
    • If you would like McQuade to purchase a streaming video license, please contact your liaison. Please indicate that it is a streaming video, what course it is for, when you will need it, and for how long.  Your liaison will investigate licensing/access options.
    • It may be difficult to identify a rights holder if the film did not have a US release, and in some cases the cost for streaming rights may be prohibitive. Also please note that some films are *not* available via streaming, anywhere (often the case for older, indie, or foreign films).
    • While some streaming licenses are easy to investigate, others require further research to identify the rights holder, licensing, and possible streaming options.  McQuade Library works with several documentary film distributors to acquire streaming rights for titles that instructors use in Merrimack courses. Variation from distributor-to-distributor in regards to licensing often requires streaming rights to be investigated on a case-by-case basis. 
  • I thought we had access to this film but now we don't?
    • When we purchase a license to a film, this does not mean we have perpetual access (like a DVD). In some cases, we may need to renew the license each year, so please check with us each semester to make sure your film is still active.
  • Can these resources be be used in classes or linked to in Blackboard or posted on my syllabus?
    • Yes, you can add stable links to Blackboard, and other learning management systems, create playlists for students to access, and more.  If you'd like to embed a media link into email, social media, or a presentation, you may do so.  See tabs for info on how to do this or contact your liaison.  Librarians are happy to help you do this.
  • Can I stream a film in my online class?
    • If you are teaching faculty, you may stream a film to your class in session or as part of coursework or homework. This is similar to face-to-face teaching guidelines. These activities are covered by our educational license.
    • If you plan to stream a film to a group as part of a film festival, for an organization, or in a non-class gathering, the film must be in the public domain or you must check to ensure public performance rights PPR (or the legal right to publicly show a film) granted through the Libraries license or on your own
    • Can I share videos with students through Zoom?
      • Licensing restrictions may prohibit screening and recording of videos via Zoom. Some streaming services use encryption or other copyright protection measures to block video or audio from being shared via Zoom.. Students can access videos on their own devices in a separate browser window during Zoom sessions. 
        Note: Videos from Kanopy are not intended to be shared via Zoom and won't work.
  • Can McQuade Library get a Netflix institutional account?
    • Netflix, Amazon Prime, Hulu, Disney, Sundance and other commercial vendors do not allow institutional subscriptions so the libraries can not provide access to these platforms.   
      The only exception is Netflix Documentaries that allow access for Netflix account holders to some original educational films for one-time educational screening.  Detailed information is available on Netflix site
  • Can I use my personal streaming service to share video with students?
    • No.  End User License Agreements (EULAs) in the form of “click-through” agreements required to access personal streaming video subscription services are legal contracts which override fair use and other exemptions to the use of copyrighted materials. EULAs for personal subscription services such as Netflix, Hulu and Amazon Prime restrict individual subscribers to private, non-commercial use only, explicitly prohibiting screening in classrooms or for public performances. 
  • Can the Library convert my physical media (DVDs) into streaming?
    • Due to copyright, licensing, and other issues, McQuade is unable to convert media—either owned by the Library or by individual faculty—such as VHS tapes and DVDs into streaming format.