McQuade LibGuides: Sports Marketing & Sponsorship: Target Markets

Consumer and Buyer Behavior

SBRNet This link opens in a new window
Find statistics and articles compiled by the SBRnet on all aspects of sports business & fitness: equipment, fans, sponsorship, social media, venues, participation and more.
RKMA Market Research This link opens in a new window
Online compilation of 2017-2023 statistics, rankings and consumer behavior data on topics such as Sports Marketing, Consumer Behavior, business-to-business, entertainment & leisure, restaurants, food & beverages, retail & e-commerce, travel & tourism, and more.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Analysis of over 900 US/Global industries with product overview, competitive landscape, sales & marketing, international insights, finance & regulation, and more. Once you find your industry, click Full Profile (top right), highlight all and copy to a document; the URL is not a permalink.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search the most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Search BSP for company profiles, industry and market research reports, country reports and articles from trade and scholarly business publications. Use the Business Searching Interface for browsing reports by country, industry or company. Mobile users: click here for Corporate Profiles.
ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Features business and economics full-text journals and periodicals, Dissertations, conference and working papers, Country-and industry-focused reports and downloadable data, and Newspapers and news content (WSJ, NYTimes, etc…).

U.S. Government Free Data

NAICS codes and the earlier SIC codes are used to define industries.
Use the sources below to identify the industry code for your industry and review the definitions and alternatives.
Next consult US Industry data tab to find annual or 5-year statistics for your industry

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)
Search for your NAICS code by keyword
NAICS Outline
See an outline to help understand what sector your product or service is in.
SIC (Standard Industrial Classification)
Some sources, such as D&B Key Business Ratios, are organized by the older SIC system.
GIC - Global Industry Classification
GIC is a system developed by Standard & Poor's and MSCI (Morgan Stanley Capital International indexes) used in investment management.

Use these sources for US national and local industry statistics organized by NAICs code.

U.S. Census Industry Statistics Portal
Drill down by NAICs code to locate sales or shipments for products or services, sometimes by specific type or zip code.
U.S. Census Bureau. Industry Snapshots
Drill down by NAICS code for industry snapshots from 2007 and 2002 economic census.
County/Zip Code Business Patterns
Find number of establishments by industry code by state, county and zip code. Often includes annual labor expenditures which can be used to estimate annual revenue.

U. S. Census Bureau. QuickFacts
In the Quick Facts box, choose your state. The results provide statistical data for your state, but then allow you to hone into a county or town.
U.S. Census 2010 Interactive Map
Open the Interactive Population Map, choose a tab - Population, Race, Ethnicity, Age/Sex, Housing Status - enter your location view map. Choose Census Tracts to show breakdowns within a city.
More Interactive U.S. Census mapping tools
Data.census.gov
View tables or use tools for population reports on states, counties. metropolitan areas, most towns and zipcodes. This site replaces the American FactFinder.
Mass.gov Commonwealth communities
Profiles of all 351 cities and towns.
Mass Benchmarks
Latest population estimates for Massachusetts towns, plus Massachusetts data extracted from the 2010 Census.

The following sites are commercial sites, so use carefully.

City-Data
Profiles cities and towns with more than 6,000 residents.
ERsys.com
Basic demographic and community information about cities and towns. Arranged by state.
Claritas -My Best Segments by Zip Code
Find out the top 5 PRIZM clusters for zip codes using the Zip Code Look-Up and view population maps and pie charts. From Nielsen.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
The U. S. Department of Labor surveys US consumer expenditures to determine how much of consumer income is spent on home, fuel, food, etc.

New Strategist Press analyzes the Consumer Expenditure Survey data further and compiles reports on Who Buys What and Where. Below are examples of reports provided by McQuade. Check the library catalog for a complete list.

American Buyers: Demographics of Shopping
Call Number: Online via Gale
ISBN: 1940308445
Publication Date: 2014
The American marketplace : demographics and spending patterns
Publication Date: 2014
American attitudes : who thinks what about the issues that shape our lives
Call Number: Online via ebrary
Publication Date: 2014
Who's buying at restaurants and carry-outs
Call Number: Online via ebrary
Publication Date: 2013
Who's buying health care
Call Number: Online via ebrary
Publication Date: 2013
American incomes : demographics of who has money
Call Number: Online via ebrary
Publication Date: 2014

More Survey and Market Research Studies

The American Customer Satisfaction Index
General Social Survey
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. The GSS takes the pulse of America, and is a unique and valuable resource. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades.
GfK Insights
Brief but helpful data on consumer habits.
Pew Research Center for People and the Press
Research results on social trends and target markets, religion, and use of technology, with additional focus on hispanic market and global public opinion.
Social & Demographic Trends
Pew Research Center
Health & Retriement Study
A longitudinal study of health, retirement and aging with insights on the needs of seniors.
Key Findings. Saurage Research.
Trends and insights into the business to business marketplace from Saurage Marketing Research.
Kids Count Data Center
The well-being of America’s children on a state-by-state basis and ranking states on 10 measures of well-being from the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
Resource Library. AMA
American Marketing Association
The Joint Center for Housing Studies
Harvard University's annual report on the state of US housing.
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
A nationally representative longitudinal study of nearly 9,000 U.S. families. Following the same families and individuals since 1968, the PSID collects data on economic, health, and social behavior.
Social Science Data on the Internet
globalEDGE
A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University.
EPI Datazone
The Economic Policy Institute, a nonprofit Washington D.C. think tank, seeks to broaden the discussion about economic policy to include the interests of low- and middle-income workers. From its findings, EPI publishes books, studies, issue briefs, popular education materials, and other publications.

MERRIMACK COLLEGE MCQUADE LIBRARY

Sports Marketing & Sponsorship

Consumer and Buyer Behavior

U.S. Government Free Data

More Survey and Market Research Studies

MERRIMACK COLLEGE
MCQUADE LIBRARY