United States History

MackSearch

Think of MackSearch like Google, but created specifically for McQuade- easy searching but with more credible results. MackSearch does a combination search of the NOBLE Catalog as well as most of our databases, so typically you'll get a lot a results back. This can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but fortunately, you have several options to refine and limit your results list to find exactly what you're looking for. In MackSearch you'll find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming media, news briefs, and more.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in MACKsearch

1. Enter the keywords (the main points of the research) into the search boxes 
2. After the initial search, click the "All Filters" button below the search box.  
3. Select "Full-Text" and "Peer-Reviewed."
4. Set the date range- usually looking at the last 10 years is a good starting point 
5. Click "Source Type" and Select "Academic Journals"
6. Take a look at your results list. Click on titles that stand out to you and read the abstract. If the article seems promising, consider reading the full text (which will be linked in the record page).

• If your not finding articles that support your research, try changing up the keywords by thinking of synonyms or alternate terms, as well as different aspects of your topic. Depending on what keywords you use, you'll get different results back.

Finding News Articles in MACKsearch

1. Enter the keywords (the main points of the research) into the search boxes 
2. After the initial search, click the "All Filters" button below the search box.  
3. Select "Full-Text" 
4. Set the date range- usually looking at the last 10 years is a good starting point 
5. Click Source Types and Select "News"
6. Take a look at your results list. Click on titles that stand out to you and read the abstract. If the article seems promising, consider reading the full text (which will be linked in the record page).

• If your not finding articles that support your research, try changing up the keywords by thinking of synonyms or alternate terms, as well as different aspects of your topic. Depending on what keywords you use, you'll get different results back.

Additional Information About MACKsearch:

• When you click on a title from your results list, you'll be brought to the record page. Here you find all of the bibliographic information needed for the citation, as well as an abstract (summary) that can help you determine if you'd like to pursue the full text. 
• PDF of the full-text is linked below the title
• To print an article, save it to Google drive, or to email the article, go to the tools on the right-hand side of the record page. 
• Citations can be found on the top, right of the record page.

Curious to find out whether or not McQuade Library has access to a particular journal?  Enter the title in search box below.

July 2020: If the search box is not opening in a new window, go directly to Find Journals/Publications in MACKsearch