For off-campus access, login using your Merrimack username and password.
If you have any issues with accessing resources from off campus, contact a librarian: mcquade@merrimack.edu
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name.
A reference resource for learners of all ages, interests, and learning journeys.
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
A collection of reference resources in many subject areas.
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.
Find U.S. History information from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Reference sources are available in general or subject specifics contexts and in print or online formats. You need to evaluate each source and determine which are helpful to you and appropriate for you to use.
Examples:
Reference materials are good starting points for research projects because they can provide:
Below are a selected few reference books about American History. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the second floor between E and F to find more materials.
The American Historical Association's guide to historical literature
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War : a political, social, and military history
The Great Depression in America : a cultural encyclopedia
Historical dictionary of the New Deal : from inauguration to preparation for war
The Reader's companion to American history
Women in early America : struggle, survival, and freedom in a new world
