Reference sources are available in general or subject specifics contexts and in print or online formats. You need to evaluate each source and determine which are helpful to you and appropriate for you to use.
Examples:
Reference materials are good starting points for research projects because they can provide:
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name.
A reference resource for learners of all ages, interests, and learning journeys.
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
A collection of reference resources in many subject areas.
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.
Below are a selected few reference books about Women's Studies. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the 2nd floor under call number beginning with HQ to find more materials. Materials about women are also often found under other subject areas.
Be sure to check those areas as well. For example, women in art would be in the N call number range for Art.
Historical encyclopedia of American women entrepreneurs : 1776 to the present
Public women, public words : a documentary history of American feminism
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
Women and political participation : a reference handbook
Notable women in mathematics : a biographical dictionary
Notable women in the physical sciences : a biographical dictionary
