McQuade LibGuides: General Reference: Statistics

What are Statistics?

Statistics is "the science that deals with the collection, classification, analysis, and interpretation of numerical facts or data, and that, by use of mathematical theories of probability, imposes order and regularity on aggregates of more or less disparate elements." ~ dictionary.com

Statistics are also the "numberical facts or data themselves." ~ dictionary.com

Books in the Library

Industry research using the economic census : how to find it, how to use it
Call Number: [REF]HC101 .B594 2004
ISBN: 157356351X
Historical statistics of the United States : earliest times to the present
Call Number: [REF] HA202 .H57 2006
ISBN: 0521817919
The Cambridge dictionary of statistics
Call Number: [REF] QA276.15 .E84 1998
ISBN: 0521593468
Handbook of financial econometrics
Call Number: HG106 .H365 2010
ISBN: 044450897X

Online Reports

Human Development Reports (HDR)
Full-text online from 1990 - current.
~ United Nations Development Programme
World Development Reports
Full-text online from 1978 - current.
~ World Bank
World Resources Report
Full-text online from 1986 - current.
~ World Resources Institute
World Economic and Social Survey
Full-text online from 1947 - current.
~ United Nations, Development Policy and Analysis Division
World Economic Outlook Reports
Full-text online from 1998 - current.
~ International Monetary Fund (IMF)

Library Databases

Access to library databases is restricted to current student, faculty and staff ONLY.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Click the "Sources" tab at the top of the page. Choose "Industries and Markets" for Industry Statistics.

Websites

American Housing Survey
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Canadian Census
Census Information: Data & Resources
University of Virginia Library
Child Research Data & Publications
Children's Defense Fund
Current Population Survey
A joint effort between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Census Bureau
Current U.S.A population
Current U.S. National Debt
Current World Population
Data from Developing Countries
BREAD: Bureau for Research in Economic Analysis of Development, includes household surveys, firm level data, macro data sources, and national statistical offices
Earthtrends: Environmental Information
A comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research
Data Publications, as well as Statistical Releases from several sources such as the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and government agencies such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Federal Reserve Board: Statistics & Historical Data
Data and Statistics About the U.S.
Medline Plus
National Library of Medicine
Historical Economic Data, 1700s-1900s
IMF Direction of Trade Statistics
Provides access to Monthly, Quarterly and Annual trade data from 1948 forward, as maintained by the International Monetary Fund. Data are provided for about 180 countries and geographic areas.
Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public.
Maddision Historical Statistics
The Historical Statistics provide data on Population, GDP and GDP per capita for all countries in the world for the period 0-2008.
Manufacturing and Construction Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau
MDG 5b+ Info
A United Nations Population Fund database that tracks global progress towards achieving the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and other related indicators of maternal health at the country level. Adapted from the UN-endorsed DevInfo database system, MDG 5b+ Info compiles the latest relevant household survey data with international data and allows for easy generation of tables, graphs and maps for inclusion in presentations, reports and advocacy materials.
National Center for Education Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
Panel Study of Income Dynamics
A longitudinal survey of a representative sample of US individuals and the families in which they reside. It has been ongoing since 1968. Core topics include income sources and amounts, poverty status, public assistance income, taxes and other financial matters, family structure and demographic measures, labor market participation, housework time, housing, geographic mobility, socio-economic background, and health.
Population Reference Bureau
Research at the World Bank: Publications & Reports
State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS)
Statistical Abstract
From the U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. City Data
U.S. Economic Accounts
From the Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce, includes national, international, regional, and industry reports and statistics.
U.S. Energy Information: Independent Statistics & Analysis
Uniform Crime Reports
US Vital Statistics Data at NBER
National Bureau of Economic Research, various statistics from 1890 - 1999.
Vital Statistics of the U.S.
Various demographic & mortality statistics from 1896 - 2003 from the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention).
World Resources Institute: Publications