McQuade LibGuides: General Reference: News

Books in the Library

(Lowell) Sun
Full-text coverage of news from Lowell, MA & the Merrimack Valley from Nov 15, 2004 - Aug 5, 2019.
The Eagle Tribune

Access to library databases is restricted to current student, faculty and staff ONLY.

(Worcester) Telegram and Gazette
Full-text coverage of the Worcester Telegram & Gazette, 1989 to the present.

Boston Globe (1980 to present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.

Boston Herald
Full-text coverage of the Boston Herald from 1991 through May 31, 2011.
Credo Reference
Dictionary of Media Studies
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies

Early American Newspapers - Readex This link opens in a new window
Offers several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Click on the "NEWS" tab at the top of the page to search for: US & International news, transcripts, blogs, news wires, stories, newspapers, magazines, etc.
Massachusetts Newsstand
Full-text coverage of 12 Massachusetts newspapers.
National Newspapers Premier
Offers online access to some of the most respected newspapers from all over the country, each with its own unique geographic perspective. Includes New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Washington Post, Barrons, etc. Coverage starts 1980 for most titles.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.