McQuade LibGuides: General Reference: Public Opinion Polls

What are Public Opinion Polls?

Public opinion is "the collective opinion of many people on the same issue, problem, etc., esp. as a guide to action, decision or the like." ~ dictionary.com

A poll is "a sampling or collection of opinions on a subject, taken from either a selected or a random group of persons, as for the purprose of analysis." ~ dictionary.com

Books in the Library

The Encyclopedia of propaganda
Call Number: [REF] HM263 .E53 1998
Polling America : an encyclopedia of public opinion
Call Number: [REF]HN90.P8 P645 2005
ISBN: 0313327017
The Gallup poll
Call Number: [REF] HN90.P8 G35

Library Databases

Access to library databases is restricted to current student, faculty and staff ONLY.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Public Opinion and Polling Around the World: A Historical Encyclopedia

Websites

Gallup Polls
Trends in American Public Opinion
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
The Joint Center National Opinion Surveys
The primary focus of a majority of the surveys has been the political attitudes of African Americans and members of the general population. Other polls the Joint Center has conducted have examined issues including: black philanthropy, attitudes toward other countries, the black family, welfare reform and devolution, health policy, regulatory reform and the declining propensity to serve in the military, among others.
Eurobarometer - Public Opinion in the European Union
Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defense, etc.