Graphic Design

Includes videos on everything from geometric constructions to guided meditation to help students with test anxiety. Videos include closed captioning options for viewers.

Part of the American Memory Digital collections,includes historical primary source videos related to work, vaudeville, entertainment, and historical markers like civil rights history or the great earthquake of San Francisco. Most videos are silent movies from the late 80's up to the 1920's.

A subset of the non-profit Internet Archive an open access comprehensive digital archive founded by Brewster Kahle in May 1996. Viewers of the film archive can turn on closed captioning for the videos.

Includes documentaries from the frontlines of science and engineering. Closed captioning available on videos.

A privately sponsored site, it offers 1,150 free films, free online courses, audio books, and e-books for iPad, Kindle and other devices. Closed captioning available.

A repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Created and sponsored by UNC's School of Library & Info Science. Archival videos include storyboards but no closed captions.

A clearinghouse of free knowledge from the world's most inspired thinkers. Includes closed captioning options.

Includes documentaries on criminal justice, religion, social issues, politics, terrorism, war and conflict, environment, education, health immigration, world, and more.

PBS Video

PBS provides free streaming to some of its content, including selected episodes of Frontline, American Masters, First Civilizations, and more. Additionally select episodes from PBS dramas are also available. Use their search box to locate titles, or browse titles by category.

Documentary Storm

Offering free documentary titles, DocumentaryStorm, curates hundreds of documentary films available online for educational purposes as well as personal enjoyment. Titles can searched by category, or by consulting their full title list at: https://documentarystorm.com/full-documentary-list/

Prelinger Archive

Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division.