Many databases allow you to search the full text of the newspapers. Try searching for your subject's name or for organizations they were part of.
You may not be able to search the full text of some digitized newspapers. If this is the case, try navigating to issues published on or shortly after key dates in your subject's life and scanning the headlines to see what you can find.
Did your subject write for for, edit, or publish a particular news publication? If you cannot find it in any databases, try:
The ► symbol indicates "best bets" - try searching these first.
Coverage: variable
Search current newspapers from our ProQuest subscriptions, including the Boston Globe, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and many others or browse articles in today's paper using the Publications search.
Coverage: 1990-2020
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. Newspaper Source also provides complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and more.
Coverage: 1980-
Coverage: 1980-
Coverage: 1984-
Coverage: 1987-
► Alternative Press Archive Index, 1969-1990
Find international articles from 300 publications 1969-1990 covering emerging and alternative politics, lifestyles, gender issues and social change.
Search a collection of digitized newspapers on Google.
Library of Congress - Chronicling America (newspaper database)
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
The Daily Breakthrough is the daily version of the Breakthrough newspaper published during the National Women's Conference.
Find contemporary newspaper articles published during the conference, or published by your subject, in papers across the country. To access this resource: Sign up for a free trial, OR go in person to Memorial Hall Library in Andover. You do not need to have a library card, you just need to connect to their wifi.
► Newspapers at the BPL: Massachusetts Newspapers Online
This helpful guide from the Boston Public Library provides links to many newspaper databases. Scroll down to "Massachusetts City and Town Newspapers Online" to look for newspapers of specific cities and towns.
► Community History Archive - New Hampshire newspapers
Browse digitized historical New Hampshire newspapers by city.
► Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
Search and browse digitized historical Pennsylvania newspapers.
Search millions of gravestones. Entries on findagrave sometimes include obituaries, photographs, and other information about the deceased.
Search genealogical and historical sources, from 1700's on, including census records, wills & probates, city directories, military and immigration records, plus family and place histories for information on particular persons and places. Access provided through McQuade Library.
FamilySearch also includes census records, wills & probates, and other genealogical sources. You may need to create a free account to search.