Use Quotation Marks (Phrase Searching)

This trick works on Google and most databases and search engines. To search for an exact phrase, use quotation marks around the phrase or name you are searching. When you place quotation marks around a phrase in a search box, the search engine will pull up only results that match the exact phrase in the order in which you've placed the words. Say you wanted to find information about Merrimack College's founder, Rev. Vincent McQuade. If you were to search Vincent McQuade (with no quotes), you might find articles and websites that contain the name "Vincent" somewhere on the page and the name "McQuade" somewhere else. If you search for "Vincent McQuade" (with quotes), you'll find only results that contain the full name Vincent McQuade. 

Combine Search Terms

Are you finding a large number of irrelevant search results? Try combining your delegate's name with another term, such as the name of the city or state they lived in. If you're using quotation marks to do a phrase search, make sure you put other terms outside of the quotation marks. You can also combine two different phrases in separate quotation marks in one search. Here are some examples:

• "Vincent McQuade" Augustinian
• "Vincent McQuade" Merrimack College
• "Vincent McQuade" "North Andover"

Be Aware of Alternate Names, Terms, and Spellings

Your delegate may have been known at different times by a different first or last name or a nickname. They may have used a middle name or initial. Their name may have alternate spellings. Be aware of these possibilities and take them into account when searching.

Follow the Breadcrumbs

You might find a source and think that it doesn't tell you much of anything about your delegate that would be suitable to include in your biography. But think of the information in each source you find as a breadcrumb. Even a small piece of information can help arm you with extra search terms to use, or help confirm information you find in a different source along the way. For instance, perhaps you found an obituary that mentions the name of your delegate's family member or spouse. You might try searching for that person's name to see if you find anything related to your delegate.

Confirm Your Facts

When searching, you may come across information about a person with the same name as your delegate. Be careful to confirm that the information you find is really related to the person you are searching for.

Use good judgement in determining whether a source is credible. If you need help evaluating a source, check in with Dr. Michals or with a librarian.

1. Your delegate's registration form

Start by examining your delegate's registration form in the document Dr. Michals shared. This form contains important details on your delegate, including their place of residence in 1977, the organizations and causes they were involved in, and demographic information.

2. Google

Begin searching Google for information about your delegate, using the tips above. As well as searching for your delegate's name, do some research on the organizations listed on the registration form so that you can better describe your delegate's work and activism.

3. Newspapers

Newspapers -- especially local newspapers -- may be one of the best places to find information about your delegate. Try the following:

1. Library databases such as Newspaper Source, ProQuest News & Newspapers, and the Alternative Press Archive Index
2. Websites of newspapers local to the delegate's area
3. Other suggestions in the Newspapers & Genealogical Sources tab of this guide
4. A free trial of Newspapers.com
5. Contact the public libraries of locations where the delegate has lived -- they might have a searchable newspaper index they'd be willing to check for you.

4. Archives

Try searching archival discovery databases such as ArchiveGrid and SNAC. Even if you can't access the archival collections themselves, finding aids and descriptions of the materials may be helpful.

5. Other types of sources...

• Did your delegate have a career in academia or the sciences? Perhaps they have published academic works. Try searching MACKsearch or Google Scholar to find articles they authored.
• Keep an eye out for:
  • Obituaries: If your delegate has passed away, their obituary might contain biographical information about them. If you know that they have died but cannot find the obituary online, try searching newspapers.com or contacting a public library in the delegate's home town. If they have a searchable newspaper or obituary index, they may be able to provide access to the obituary.
  • Entries in "Who's Who" directories: Your delegate may be listed in a pre-Internet "Who's Who" directory, such as "Who's Who Among Black Americans." You might be able to find these kinds of publications on Archive.org or HathiTrust.
  • Social media and personal websites: Your delegate may maintain social media accounts or a personal website that could provide some useful information, but make sure you are confident that it's really your delegate before using the information you find there.
  • Genealogical websites: These may not always be trustworthy, but they may be able to help you connect pieces of information together using birthdates, places of residence, or other biographical details.

6. Ask a librarian

Are you stuck? Make an appointment with librarian Jenna Colozza for research help.

Keep in mind that many of the delegates to the National Women's Conference were regular people and activists, not public figures. Many of them were most active before the proliferation of the Internet. It may be tough to find information about them publicly available online. If you are struggling, Dr. Michals and Jenna are always happy to help you with your research.