This page is not designed to be a comprehensive list of primary source materials, but a general guide of where to look for sources at McQuade Library and on the web.
While many of the internet resources have a wide array of materials, locating primary sources will vary depending on the topic you choose to pursue.
For additional help finding resources specifically related to your topic, consult your librarian:
1. Meet the document.
2. Observe its parts.
3. Try to make sense of it.
4. Use it as historical evidence.
McQuade Library provides access to many major newspapers. Try searching the below databases for news articles. If you find an article online that you'd like to use but is behind a paywall, and you're having trouble finding it in a database, contact a librarian for help.
Current Newspapers:
Search 40 U.S. & international newspapers, selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers, plus television & radio news transcripts..
Full-text coverage from 1980 to the present. Select the Publications tab above the search box for complete coverage details. Courtesy of the MBLC
Historical Newspapers:
Search several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 250 significant 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from all 50 present states. The collection now includes Series 2, 1758-1900 plus more newspapers 1780-1809.
Find international articles from 300 publications 1969-1990 covering emerging and alternative politics, lifestyles, gender issues and social change.
The NOBLE catalog contains numerous primary sources in the forms of historical documents collections, as well as literature and writings contemporary of the period you are studying.
You can search for primary sources in the NOBLE catalog by adding the term "sources" to your keyword search. Connect your keyword and the word "sources" with the term AND. For example:
You can also search directly for works by individuals relevant to the topic you are researching. For example:
Collection of historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) detailing American history and culture from 1684 through 1892.
Find U.S. History information from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Find world history information from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.
Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder and Search to find international viewpoints, articles, statistics, multimedia and primary source material on global issues and current events.
Find information on hot social topics from opinion articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and websites.
When searching for primary sources in library databases, navigate to the Advanced Search option to limit your search to primary source documents:
EBSCO database limiters
Gale database limiters