Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accounting & Taxation Resources

Major accounting & taxation resources - standards, law & regulations, associations & helpful books

Standards

FASB. Financial Accounting Standards Board
http://www.fasb.org/
The mission of the Financial Accounting Standards Board is to establish standards of financial accounting for nongovernmental organizations.  These standards are recognized by the SEC and the AICPA. The website provides full-text FASB Pronouncements, Comment Letters, Exposure Documents, current Action Alerts, and reports and articles. The Accounting Standards Codification is available after registering for its free basic view; accounting faculty can request special access for their class.

GASB. Governmental Accounting Standards Board
http://www.gasb.org/
The mission of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board is to establish state and local government accounting and financial reporting standards that will prove useful to issuers, auditors, and users of financial reports. The website includes some full-text Technical Issues, summaries and status of Pronouncements and Statements, texts of recent Exposure Drafts, and news.

Government Auditing Standards (The Yellow Book)
http://www.gao.gov/govaud/ybk01.htm
Government Auditing Standards contain standards for audits of government organizations, programs, activities, and functions and standards for organizations which receive government assistance. Published by the General Accounting Office, the standards, known as generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS), are to be followed by auditors and audit organizations, when required by law or regulation. The website includes the full-text of the current standards, previous standards, comment letters on Exposure Drafts, legal desicions, and press releases.

International Accounting Standards Board
http://www.iasb.org
The International Accounting Standards Board consists of 9 countries who set global accounting standards that require comparable information in general purpose financial statements. The website provides summaries of standards and interpretations, and some full-text documents open to comment and current exposure drafts.

Knowledge Guides to International Standards
http://www.icaew.com/en/library/subject-gateways/auditing/knowledge-guide-to-international-standards-on-auditing
Knowledge Guides provide information on international standards in the field of accounting and auditing. They are compiled and maintained by the Library and Information Service of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW). The Guides aim to help the user find the information on international standards, keep up to date with the latest issues in the field, and learn the ICAEW viewpoint.

Securities and Exchange Commission. Information for Accountants
http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/cfreportingguidance.shtml
This Securities and Exchange Commission site links to some full-text Staff Accounting Bulletins, recent Selected Accounting and Auditing Enforcement Releases , Regulatory Pronouncements, and news. See the Home Page of the Securities and Exchange Commission for links to pertinent federal laws and regulations, publications, and searchable (public company) EDGAR Filings.

 

Sustainability Accounting Standards Board
http://www.sasb.org/
"SASB’s mission is to develop and disseminate sustainability accounting standards that help public corporations disclose material, decision-useful information to investors." 

Related Sites