ENG 4920: Theories and Practices in the Tutoring of Writing

Chicago Manual of Style documentation guidelines are often used in the history field.

Learn more here:

• Purdue OWL: Chicago Formatting and Style Guide
• Chicago Manual of Style Online

Chicago citation format uses two styles: an in-text parenthetical or footnote style, and a bibliography style. Use the Bibliography style for your reference list.

Newspapers

From Purdue OWL: "Notes and bibliographic entries for newspapers should include the following: name of the author (if listed), headline or column heading, newspaper name, month (often abbreviated), day, and year. Since issues may include several editions, page numbers are usually omitted. If an online edition of a newspaper is consulted, the URL should be added at the end of the citation. Time stamps may be appropriate to include when stories for unfolding events are modified."

Examples of newspaper citations in Chicago bibliography style:

Saeks, Diane Dorrans. "Ohioans join emotional protest as IWY majority backs abortion." Dayton Daily News (Dayton, OH), Nov. 21, 1977.

United Press International. "They're Housewives and Proud of It." New York Times, April 3, 1972.

Magazines

From Purdue OWL: "Notes and bibliographic entries for magazines include the following information: author’s name, article title (enclosed by quotation marks), magazine title (italicized), and date. Page numbers are included in notes but are omitted in bibliographic entries. Regular departments (or regularly occurring subsections) in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks. For example, National Geographic is the magazine that regularly includes a department called Foods of the Region."

Example of a magazine article citation in Chicago bibliography style:

Potts, Georgiann. "Champion for Children." BayouLife Magazine, January 2020.

This guide provides advice for creating citations to manuscript materials held in Special Collections. In general, citations should provide sufficient detail for locating items. Each citation should include information that will identify the specific item used. Arrange this information in the following three categories:

Description of item:

• form of communication (memorandum, diary, interview, etc.)
• names of sender and recipient for a letter, speaker and audience for a speech or delivered paper, author and title for a publication or report, names of interviewer and individual interviewed, etc.
• date and other information needed for clarity (such as city and state for a speech)

Location information:

• collection name
• series and subseries, when applicable
• box number
• file or folder number

Identify the repository:

• Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Sample Citations:

The following citations are expanded from the footnote formats recommended in The Chicago Manual of Style (SEE BELOW for more information on Chicago Style citation formatting).

Letter:

L. Brezhnev to J. William Fulbright, July 7, 1973. J. William Fulbright Papers, series 48, subseries 16, box 42, folder 3. Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Diary, Memoir, Etc.:

Mary Bacon Bond, commonplace book, May 4, 1836. Martin Family Papers (MC 859), series 2, box 1, folder 8.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Report:

Institute of Distribution, "The Case for--the Case Against: The Utterback-Robinson-Patman Bill," 34-36. Joseph Taylor Robinson Papers, series 9, subseries 2, box 215, folder 4.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Oral History:

Mrs. Alice West, interview by Mary Celestia Parler, December 11, 1954, "Fourth of July and Christmas Customs," transcript. Folklore Collection, box 3, folder 32.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Musical Composition:

Florence Price, Symphony in E Minor, orchestral score. Florence Price Papers (MC 988), series 2, subseries 4, box 3, folder 5.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Literary Draft:

John Gould Fletcher, poem, "I Had Scarcely Fallen Asleep." John Gould Fletcher Papers, series 1, subseries 1, box 3, folder 24.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Photographs:

Photograph of Daisy Bates with John F. Kennedy at the White House. Daisy Bates Papers (MC 582), series 4, subseries 4, box 9, photograph number 57.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Photograph by J. Laurence Charlton of a migrant worker family. J. Laurence Charlton Collection, group 3, number 12.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.