Clinical Mental Health Counseling

"Open Educational Resources (OER) are high-quality, openly licensed, online educational materials that offer an extraordinary opportunity for people everywhere to share, use, and reuse knowledge. They also demonstrate great potential as a mechanism for instructional innovation as networks of teachers and learners share best practices." - The Hewlett Foundation

According to the Open Education Handbook OER need to meet the "5Rs Framework." This framework outlines that resources are free, and that users have the legal right to: 

• Retain- Make, own, and control copies of content
• Reuse- Use unaltered content in a wide range of ways (posting to Blackboard, distributing in class, emailing to colleagues and students, etc.)
• Revise- Adapt, adjust, modify, or alter the content itself 
• Remix- The original or revised content can be combined with other open content to create something new 
• Redistribute- Original content, your revisions, or your remixes can be shared with others 

OERs are not just textbooks, other common resources include:

• Learning modules
• Syllabi
• Learning objects
• Course websites
• Lectures and presentations
• Course materials
• Activities, labs, assignments
• Software
• Videos

• Noba

  Created by the Diener Education Fund, provides free high-quality textbooks and learning materials that cover the "traditional scope of introductory psychology and then some."
• OER Commons- Psychology

  The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your psychology resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
• The Psych Files

  Hosted by Michael A. Britt, Ph.D. in psychology from The State University of New York at Albany, this site offers podcasts and other resources of interest to students and faculty of psychology.
• UC Berkeley Webcasts- Psychology

  Archive of video and audio lectures from courses on general psychology, developmental psychology, social psychology, and research and data analysis.

• Mental Health: OER

Mt. Sac Library- This guide provides resources and tools for faculty wishing to implement open educational resources (OER) in their courses.

• Psychiatry and Mental Health OER 

University of North Dakota Libraries

• OER Commons- Therapy and Treatment

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections.

• Occupational Therapy OER

University of North Dakota Libraries

• NCBI Bookshelf: Mental Health

Free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

• BC Open Textbook

  The textbook section of the BC Campus OpenEd project. Textbooks created for the top 40 highest enrolled first and second year subject areas.
• College Open Textbooks

  Created by a collaboration between educational non-profit and for-profit organizations from over 200 colleges.
• InTech

  One of the largest open access publishers and distributors of books in the science, technology, and medical fields.
• MIT OpenCourseWare- Online Textbooks

  Textbooks created for MIT OpenCourseWare classes, that open-licensed electronic versions of print books, self-published online books, or thorough course notes. Primarily for the science and engineering disciplines.
• OAPEN Library

  The Open Access Publishing in European Networks provides access to free, peer-reviewed academic textbooks produced for the humanities and social sciences. Not all books are available in English.
• Open Course Library (Washington Community and Technical Colleges)

  Offers collections of course materials that cost $30 or less for 81 highest enrolled courses. Offers powerpoints, assignments, lectures and more.
• OpenStax College

  Created by Rice University, these peer-reviewed text books are written by professional content developers to meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses.
• Open SUNY Textbooks

  Established by the State University of New York, this open access initiative publishes high-quality resources and engages faculty as authors and peer-reviewers.
• Open Textbook Library

  Created by the University of Minnesota, these faculty-reviewed textbooks cover a wide range of academic subjects.
• Saylor Academy Open Textbooks

  This non-profit organization sponsored by the Saylor Foundation, is focused on bringing "freely available education to all." This collection of open textbooks supports the Saylor online courses. It's a collection of open course materials for high-enrollment college courses.
• Textbook Equity

  Creator, publisher, and distributor of academically reviewed and classroom tested college-level textbooks. Many contain learning exercises, discussion questions, and other supplemental materials

• Directory of Open Access Books

  Increases the discoverability of open access books by compiling records of freely available books from around the internet, and providing links to resources. This includes international textbooks in various languages.
• HathiTrust

  A global partnership of research institutions preserving and distributing digitized works from around the world.
• Internet Archive

  Provides permanent access to text (including full books) on a variety of subjects from different time periods and regions.
• Project Gutenberg

  The place where you can download over 33,000 free ebooks, in the public domain, to read on your PC, iPad, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPhone, Android or other portable device.