Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wikipedia Beware

McQuade Librarians Recommend

Wikipedia may be approprate for some recent topics (especially in popular culture or current affairs), 

but...

  • Wikipedia is a place to begin researching a topic, but certainly not a place to end it.
  • If you need to consult an academic encyclopedia, try Britannica Online or if you need a biography of someone try Biography in ContextCredo Reference contains approximately 350 electronic reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more. Or, search in Reference Universe to find subject specific reference sources located at McQuade.  If you are looking for an encyclopedia article about a human disease try a database such as Health Reference Center Academic and click the tab for books.
  • For most topics, you should use and cite a scholarly work rather than Wikipedia.
  • Like with any other source, in print or on the web, take time to critically evaluate it, and cross check facts with other sources. Make sure it is the best source for your information need.
  • Talk with scholars at Merrimack College and discuss Wikipedia.


Quick Links

Getting Started with Resources @ McQuade

Try These Reference Sources

Browse Journals

BROWSE PERIODICALS BY TITLE:

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other


OR BROWSE OUR LIST BY SUBJECT:
Select a subject area and click Search, and then drill down subtopics to see lists and links.

Subject Categories:

  • Art, Architecture & Applied Arts
  • Business & Economics
  • Earth & Environmental Sciences
  • Engineering & Applied Sciences
  • General Health & Biological Sciences
  • History & Archaeology
  • Journalism & Communications
  • Languages & Literatures
  • Law, Politics & Government
  • Music, Dance, Drama & Film
  • Philosophy & Religion
  • Physical Sciences & Mathematics
  • Social Sciences

Find a Journal

DO WE HAVE YOUR JOURNAL?
Use this form to determine if McQuade Library has access to a particular journal, newspaper or magazine in electronic full-text format or print:

Search for a Journal by Title/ISSN:

 

Title begins with
Use to search for a word or words that are at the beginning of the title. For example, philosophical.

Title equals
Use Title Equals if you know the entire title of the journal. For example, Journal of the American Chemical Society.

Title contains all words
Use to search for a word or words anywhere in the title. For example, a search for international business will find the word international and the word business anywhere in the title.

ISSN equals
ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) is the internationally accepted code for identifying serial publications. It consists of two groups of four digits. For example, 0028-9604.

Resources by Subject or Type

For a list of database by Subject, choose a topic below.
Or consult a Subject Guide for more topics.