McQuade LibGuides: Exercise and Sport Science: Reference Sources

Reference Books/E-Books

Below are a selected few reference books about Sports Medicine. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the 2nd floor between the following call numbers to find more materials.

GV201 - GV555 - Physical education and training
GV557 - GV1198.995 - Sports
RC1200 - RC1245 - Sports Medicine

Dictionary of sport and exercise science
Call Number: [electronic resource]
Encyclopedia of sports medicine
Call Number: [electronic resource]
The encyclopedia of sports medicine
Call Number: [REF]RC1206 .O355 2005
ISBN: 0816053340
The endocrine system in sports and exercise
Call Number: [electronic resource]
Orthopedics and sports medicine
Call Number: [electronic resource]
The Oxford dictionary of sports science and medicine
Call Number: [REF] RC1206 .O94 2006
ISBN: 0199210896
Rehabilitation of sports injuries : scientific basis
Call Number: [electronic resource]
Tendinopathy in athletes
Call Number: [electronic resource]

Online Reference Shelf

Biography - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Free site available to all. See also Britannica sources provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners for Children, Young Adults, Reference and Escolar Online.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
~ American Men and Women of Science
~ Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
~ Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
~ Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
~ Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders
~ Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
General Reference Center Gold, now in General OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new window
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers, reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images.
Health and Wellness - Gale This link opens in a new window
Find health information from trusted medical sources, journal, videos and more on diseases and conditions, drugs, diagnostics and tests, and therapies, treatments and surgeries. Now includes materials from the former Nursing Resource Center. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Health and Medicine - Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly journal articles on a wide range health and medical topics. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic. Courtesy MBLC.
MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.