Open Educational Resources

Collection of text, audio, and video speeches. maintained by Michael E. Eidenmuller, Ph.D.

Provides fair use clips from film, videos, and television with commentary. This non-profit advocacy group supports the use of media for education, teaching, and creative projects.

Co-production of the Media History Digital Library and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Communication Arts. This open access archive contains books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.

An archive of public domain resources related to film, television, radio, and other forms of public media.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your communications resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

The Pew Research Center's collected information on American attitudes, issues, and trends in journalism and mass media.

Open Access introductory text for undergraduates. Registration is required but it is easy to do. Text is available as printable PDFs or as an Inkling app for the IPad.

This interactive exercise lets students combine various economic policies to analyse their future impact (in the following two years) on the main macroeconomic indicators. Created by the IE Business School in Spain.

These are relevant and openly licensed resources for macroeconomics, provided by Saylor.org

Macrothink encourages the publication of research papers in the fields of operations management, production management, strategic management, marketing, economics, financial, information technology management, business analysis, business strategy, business development, enterprise management, human resource management and relevant subjects.

Khan Academy features instructional videos that span topics covered in Microeconomics and Macronomics at the introductory college level.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your economics resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

An Open Knowledge Foundation project providing open content, data and code related to economics. The Open Economics Working Group is run by the Open Knowledge Foundation in association with the Centre for Intellectual and Property Law (CIPIL) at the University of Cambridge. Its membership consists of leading academics and researchers, public and private sector economists, representatives from national and international public bodies and other experts from around the world.

The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector. The graduate program covers a broad range of research interests and diverse methodologies.

These lectures are intended to supplement an introductory undergraduate course that teaches the fundamentals of microeconomics. These materials introduce microeconomic concepts and analysis, supply and demand analysis, theories of the firm and individual behavior, competition and monopoly, and welfare economics. This resources contains many links to supplemental material and uses the Principles of Macroeconomics open textbook (listed above).

Draws together online materials from throughout the DPLA including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, into a single topical collection. Some sets focus on historical topics, while others focus on the historical background of literature and culture. Sets include a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.

This course promotes clear and effective communication skills through use of the Pre-Write, Write, and Revise method. The remaining units will focus on the minutiae of good writing practices, from style to citation methodology. -Saylor

This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development. It traces the history of the language from its arrival in Britain in the fifth century AD through to the present day and its status as a language with a truly global reach. It looks at how and why English came to occupy this position, and at what the consequences of its global spread are for the way it’s used and perceived around the world. -The Open University

Part of the MLA Commons, this full-text, interdisciplinary repository provides access to scholarly works, pedagogical tools, and syllabi.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your search by subject area (composition & rhetoric, reading information text, reading literature, etc.), education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your literature resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Hundreds of podcasts created by University of Oxford faculty, visiting lecturers, and conference addresses available on various topics, many of which are organized into series.

Writing Commons is a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research. Writing Commons has been adopted by Georgia Institute of Technology, University of South Florida-Tampa, Ohio State University, and Duke University.

Writing Spaces collects peer-reviewed essays and composes them into textbook chapters that are intended to not only be instructional in nature, but to also be excellent examples of college-level writing. Some of the included essays provide students with sound writing advice and strategies; others can be used to stimulate classroom discussion.

The American Yawp offers a free and online, collaboratively built, open American history textbook designed for college-level history courses. Unchecked by profit motives or business models, and free from for-profit educational organizations,The American Yawp is by scholars, for scholars. All contributors—experienced college-level instructors—volunteer their expertise to help democratize the American past for twenty-first century classrooms.

Draws together online materials from throughout the DPLA including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, into a single topical collection. Some sets focus on historical topics, while others focus on the historical background of literature and culture. Sets include a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.

Supported by the University of California Berkeley Library. A digital repository of resources from international institutions with collections of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.

Search for images, documents, artworks, books, artifacts, and audio recordings collected from archives, libraries, as museums throughout Europe. Also browse the Europeana Exhibitions to see thematic collections of materials combined with in-depth curatorial details.

Available from the Internet Archive, this public domain collection contains videos produced by various United States government agencies. The content includes training films, information films, historical accounts, speeches and more.

"The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education." Developed by college professors and historians, content is organized by time period, and includes interactive timelines, essays, primary source collections, and multimedia presentations and videos.

Prior to its publication, History in the Making underwent a rigorous double blind peer review, a process that involved over thirty scholars who reviewed the materially carefully, objectively, and candidly in order to ensure not only its scholarly integrity but also its high standard of quality.

This book provides a strong emphasis on critical thinking about US History by providing several key features in each chapter. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter help students to understand what they will learn in each chapter. Before You Move On sections at the end of each main section are designed to encourage students to reflect on important concepts and test their knowledge as they read. In addition, each chapter includes Critical Thinking Exercises that ask the student to deeply explore chapter content, Key Terms, and a Chronology of events. -University of North Georgia

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your search by subject area (Ancient History, U.S. History, or World History), education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Archive of video and audio lectures from courses on the philosophy of mind, theory of meaning, philosophy of language, existentialism, and ancient philosophy.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your philosophy resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Developed by the Centre for Consciousness at the Australian National University and edited by an international board of philosophy professors, this comprehensive index of the research literature in philosophy provides access to many open access articles, books, and websites.

Hundreds of podcasts created by University of Oxford faculty, visiting lecturers, and conference addresses available on various topics, many of which are organized into series.

Use the course finder to browse from 6 philosophy specialties including: ethics, logic, metaphysics, and political philosophy. Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

Established by the University of California, Santa Barbara, this archive contains over 100,000 documents, multimedia, and links.

Free public lectures created by scholars on political topics. Each lecture includes an audio file, a text transcript, and any other supplemental materials used by the presenter (presentation slides, handouts, etc). There is an extensive archive of past lectures, and a list of new and upcoming lectures to stream live.

Use the course finder to browse from 3 political science specialties including: American politics, comparative politics, and international relations. Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your political science resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

The World Bank's official open access repository for its annual reports, books, evaluations, strategy documents, and technical papers.

Hundreds of podcasts created by University of Oxford faculty, visiting lecturers, and conference addresses available on various topics, many of which are organized into series.

Created by the Diener Education Fund, provides free high-quality textbooks and learning materials that cover the "traditional scope of introductory psychology and then some."

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your psychology resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Hosted by Michael A. Britt, Ph.D. in psychology from The State University of New York at Albany, this site offers podcasts and other resources of interest to students and faculty of psychology.

Archive of video and audio lectures from courses on general psychology, developmental psychology, social psychology, and research and data analysis.

Free public lectures created by scholars on religion topics. Each lecture includes an audio file, a text transcript, and any other supplemental materials used by the presenter (presentation slides, handouts, etc). There is an extensive archive of past lectures, and a list of new and upcoming lectures to attend live.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your religious studies resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

"A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion, including syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, web sites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software."

Use the course finder to browse the 2 sociology specialties: community development, and social justice. Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your sociology resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Browse podcasts, articles, and blogs, and user generated community content related to crime, culture, gender, health, inequality, politics, and race.
"The Society Pages (TSP) is an open-access social science project headquartered in the Department of Sociology at the University of Minnesota and supported by individual donors and publishing partner W.W. Norton & Company, Inc."

The Sociological Cinema is an online resource to help sociology instructors incorporate videos into their classes. The centerpiece of the site is a searchable database of video clips. Each clip is tagged with sociological themes, year, and includes a summary of the clip with suggestions of how to use it in the classroom. The focus of the site is on short video clips (<10 minutes), but videos may be up to one hour in length. The site also includes comment sections for all videos, a blog, assignments, video-related scholarship on teaching and learning, and a form to submit new video clips to the site. -Merlot

Over 50 podcasts created by University of Oxford faculty, visiting lecturers, and conference addresses available on various topics.

Created by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, this site collects and provides access to high quality videos of art-related content from cultural institutions from around the world.

Art Textbooks in CollegeOpenTextbooks.org
Includes links to art, art history, design, and photography textbooks.

Browse and download high-resolution, public domain artworks.

Developed by Berklee College of Music faculty, these music lessons and other resources are free to use, download, and distribute.

Free public lectures created by scholars on music topics. Each lecture includes an audio file, a text transcript, and any other supplemental materials used by the presenter (presentation slides, handouts, etc). There is an extensive archive of past lectures, and a list of new and upcoming lectures to view live online.

An archive of public domain resources related to film, television, radio, and other forms of public media.

"Five decades of Met publications on art history, available to read, download, and/or search for free."

Use the course finder to browse from 7 fine arts sub-topics including: art history, music, performing arts, and visual arts. Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

Use the course finder to browse from 3 music specialties including: music history, music performance, and music theory. Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

Free lessons, exercises, and tools on music theory. All free content can be used, embedded, and shared.

Provides access to royalty-free music recordings, scores, and teaching materials.

Basic features of creating, viewing, printing, hearing and sharing professional quality music notation are free. Additional features require a subscription fee. Noteflight also contains a library of scores created by other users that can be viewed and shared.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your performing arts resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your visual arts resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Provides videos and essays that are leading resources in the study of art and cultural heritage from the paleolithic to the present.
"Smarthistory is a collaboration of more than 200 art historians, archaeologists, curators and other specialists who want to make the highest-quality art history learning content freely available to a global audience."

Archive of video and audio lectures from courses on on art, visual thinking, and cyber culture.

Part of the Digital Commons network, this collection contains scholarly and other resources that can be narrowed by topic.

"FemTechNet is an activated network of hundreds of scholars, students, and artists who work on, with, and at the borders of technology, science, and feminism in a variety of fields including Science and Technology Studies (STS), Media and Visual Studies, Art, Women’s, Queer, and Ethnic Studies."

This collection contains a sampling of collections of audio and visual materials from the Lesbian Herstory Archives.

Click on individual courses to review the syllabus, calendar, lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your women's studies resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Supported by a Carnegie-Whitney Grant from the American Library Association, this resource repository provides access to open access journals, books, and digital collections.

"Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University."

COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate online language courses, reference grammars, and assessment tools in an open way. Each of the 17 represented languages on COERLL's website features a list of resources each of which is tailored to its respective language. -COERLL
Most of the resources found on the COERLL website are licensed under a Creative Commons license; however, their license terms vary.

Created by the Five College Center for the Study of World Languages. Provides video interviews with native language speakers from different cultures from around the world. Video clips are arranged by country, then by topics such as family, food, education, religious and cultural customs, work, art, sport, travel, and more.

Created by the Five College Center for the Study of World Languages. Provides videos and other multimedia of native speakers speaking their language in their natural environment. There are 25 different languages available including: Arabic, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

This list features resources for learning 46 different languages from various providers including Carnegie Mellon, BBC, and Yale among many others. Featured content includes website-based material, audio recordings, flashcards, and podcasts for learning Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Thai among 39 others.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your language resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your world cultures resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.