McQuade LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Girard School of Business

On this page you will find boxes containing open educational resources selected for each discipline within the Girard School of Business. This page is meant to showcase a selection of some of the resources that are available in your subject area, and provide you some ideas of the types of materials that are available to use in your courses. This is not meant to be an exhaustive list, so please feel free to contact your liaison librarian for assistance finding additional resources for your subject.

Accounting

Auditing ABC123
A series of video modules designed to introduce accounting students to the auditing process, and the various issues related to audits.
CasePlace
Create a free account to access books, case studies, syllabi, teaching modules, and many other multimedia resources. Primarily designed for faculty in business schools, these resources help incorporate environmental, social and ethical topics into teaching on business and management. Resources are divided by discipline (accounting, economics, finance, management, marketing, etc.), topic (corporate accountability, environmental issues, sustainability, workforce management, etc.), and by region.
CPA Review
This site provides free practice exams and questions for individuals preparing for the CPA exam. Created by Joe Hoyle, an associate professor of accounting at University of Richmond Robins School of Business.
MIT Courseware- Accounting
Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.
OER Commons- Accounting
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your accounting resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
Processing Integrity Challenge
This interactive classroom activity "makes use of game theory to help students learn how to determine relevant application controls for accounting systems to ensure processing integrity is achieved. It specifically addresses source data, data entry, processing, and output controls." Developed by Susan M. Moncada, Ph.D., CPA- Indiana State University.

Economics

CoreEcon
Open Access introductory text for undergraduates. Registration is required but it is easy to do. Text is available as printable PDFs or as an Inkling app for the IPad.
Economic Policy Simulator
This interactive exercise lets students combine various economic policies to analyse their future impact (in the following two years) on the main macroeconomic indicators. Created by the IE Business School in Spain.
Intermediate Macroeconomics
These are relevant and openly licensed resources for macroeconomics, provided by Saylor.org
Macrothink
Macrothink encourages the publication of research papers in the fields of operations management, production management, strategic management, marketing, economics, financial, information technology management, business analysis, business strategy, business development, enterprise management, human resource management and relevant subjects.
more...less...
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License.
Micro & Macroeconomics -Khan Academy
Khan Academy features instructional videos that span topics covered in Microeconomics and Macronomics at the introductory college level.
OER Commons- Economics
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your economics resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
Open Economics
An Open Knowledge Foundation project providing open content, data and code related to economics. The Open Economics Working Group is run by the Open Knowledge Foundation in association with the Centre for Intellectual and Property Law (CIPIL) at the University of Cambridge. Its membership consists of leading academics and researchers, public and private sector economists, representatives from national and international public bodies and other experts from around the world.
Open Yale
The Department of Economics at Yale offers a wide spectrum of courses for both specialists and non-specialists alike. For undergraduate majors, a core of courses in macro- and microeconomics, mathematics, and econometrics is required. Advanced courses offer training in economic history, finance, theory, international and developmental economics, market organization, human resources, and the public sector. The graduate program covers a broad range of research interests and diverse methodologies.
Principles of Microeconomics
These lectures are intended to supplement an introductory undergraduate course that teaches the fundamentals of microeconomics. These materials introduce microeconomic concepts and analysis, supply and demand analysis, theories of the firm and individual behavior, competition and monopoly, and welfare economics. This resources contains many links to supplemental material and uses the Principles of Macroeconomics open textbook (listed above).

Finance

Break-Even Analysis Simulation
This interactive simulation teaches students the basics of performing a break-even analysis, using a realistic, though fictional example.
CasePlace
Create a free account to access books, case studies, syllabi, teaching modules, and many other multimedia resources. Primarily designed for faculty in business schools, these resources help incorporate environmental, social and ethical topics into teaching on business and management. Resources are divided by discipline (accounting, economics, finance, management, marketing, etc.), topic (corporate accountability, environmental issues, sustainability, workforce management, etc.), and by region.
MarketPlace
A series of radio programs that provide daily information about "the latest business news both nationally and internationally, the global economy, and wider events linked to the financial markets." Live stream current programs, download or embed previous recordings. Produced and distributed by American Public Media (APM), in association with the University of Southern California.
MIT Courseware- Finance
Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.
OER Commons- Finance
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your finance resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

Management

CasePlace
Create a free account to access books, case studies, syllabi, teaching modules, and many other multimedia resources. Primarily designed for faculty in business schools, these resources help incorporate environmental, social and ethical topics into teaching on business and management. Resources are divided by discipline (accounting, economics, finance, management, marketing, etc.), topic (corporate accountability, environmental issues, sustainability, workforce management, etc.), and by region.
Free Management Library
This online library provides access to carefully selected, quality informational and educational materials on over 650 business management topics.
LearningEdge
Developed by the faculty and students of the MIT Sloan School of Management, these case studies and real-world simulations are free to use and share. " LearningEdge collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are on the cutting edge, including entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics."
MIT Courseware- Management
Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.
OER Commons- Management
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your management resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.
Regenesys Foundation- Free Business School
This non-profit foundation provides access to free online learning to help individuals and organizations achieve goals by building leadership potential. No-cost registration is required to access the free learning materials, tutorial videos, study guides, e-Books, webinars, academic articles, e-learning technical support.
SBA Learning Center
Resource library of video and text tutorials created by the U.S. Small Business Association. Includes the topics: Financing, Government Contracting, Managing a Business, Marketing, Starting a Business

Marketing

AdPrin
Developed by Professor J. Scott Armstrong at the Wharton School, this online collection of free, evidence-based resources aims to "summarize empirical research on how to develop persuasive communications and how to test their persuasiveness. It provides specific advice on what to do in what situations. It explains why the principles work and provides evidence on their effectiveness."
BricksOrClicks
This channel conflict simulation places students in the role of CEO, and provides them with a relevant hands-on learning experience.
CasePlace
Create a free account to access books, case studies, syllabi, teaching modules, and many other multimedia resources. Primarily designed for faculty in business schools, these resources help incorporate environmental, social and ethical topics into teaching on business and management. Resources are divided by discipline (accounting, economics, finance, management, marketing, etc.), topic (corporate accountability, environmental issues, sustainability, workforce management, etc.), and by region.
LearningEdge
Developed by the faculty and students of the MIT Sloan School of Management, these case studies and real-world simulations are free to use and share. " LearningEdge collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are on the cutting edge, including entrepreneurship, leadership and ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics."
MIT Courseware- Marketing
Use the limiters to select the types of OER you would like to use including: lecture notes, interactive simulations, online textbooks, and assessments.
OER Commons- Marketing
The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls materials from multiple OER collections. Use the left-side menu to refine your marketing resources search by education level, material type, media format, and conditions of use.

MERRIMACK COLLEGE
MCQUADE LIBRARY

Open Educational Resources

Liaison Librarian for Business

Table of Contents

Accounting

Economics

Finance

Management

Marketing

MERRIMACK COLLEGE MCQUADE LIBRARY

Open Educational Resources

Table of Contents

Accounting

Economics

Finance

Management

Marketing

MERRIMACK COLLEGE
MCQUADE LIBRARY