| Phase I |
| Beginning the summer of 2010, the former Perkins Periodicals Room was transformed into two separate spaces: the Education Resource Center (ERC) and the Quiet Study room. The ERC was moved from the 3rd floor into the new 2nd floor space, with low shelving, study tables, and comfortable seating. This room was completed during the Fall semester of 2010. The Quiet Study room is still in progress as we await new furniture. The expected completion of this room is approximately March 2011. Until then, students are welcome to use the space as it is intended for quiet study. |
| Phase II |
| Phase II of the library renovation was completed during Winter Break, December 2010 - January 2011. During this time all collections and services that were previously housed on the first floor were moved to the 2nd floor of the library. This includes Reference services and collections, the Circulation desk (check-in and check-out of materials), Course reserves, Interlibrary loan, and staff offices. |
| Permanent Changes: |
| The 2nd floor atrium is now the new permanent location for the reference collection. While the college was closed, movers worked diligently to assemble new low shelving and moved all of the books from the 1st floor to the 2nd floor. The atrium space includes 6 study tables. |
| The 2nd floor is also home to the Research Center where students, faculty, staff and patrons may seek one-on-one assistance with librarians regarding research, searching databases, finding books and articles, Interlibrary loan, etc. Reference librarians in this office include Lyena Chavez, Melinda Malik, and Donna Maturi. |
| Offices of the Library Director, Bridget Rawding, and Operations Manager, Robert O'Brien, are now located on the 3rd floor. |
| Temporary Changes: |
| Until Phase III is completed, the 2nd floor atrium will also house all other services previously found on the 1st floor. At the top of the stairs, in front of the IT lab is the Circulation desk where students, faculty, staff and patrons may go to check-out materials, return borrowed materials, and pick up Interlibrary loan and Course reserves. |
| Those with more in-depth questions, such as how to find a book or article, how to search the online catalog or databases, how to narrow a paper topic, or how to start searching for information for a research project, should ask a librarian for help at the Information desk. The Information desk is temporarily located in front of the Research Center. |
| Also in front of the Research Center are 12 computer workstations. These computers are available only to Merrimack students, faculty and staff and require a login and password for access. Printers connected to these computer workstations are located in the IT computer lab on the opposite side of the atrium. |
| The DVD and Tolle Lege collections are located on opposite walls in the atrium. DVDs are on the purple wall across from the Circulation desk, and the Tolle Lege Collection is on the peach wall in between the ERC and Quiet Study rooms. |
| Hot Titles, New Books, New DVDs, and DVD Series, formerly located in the 1st floor lobby are now located in various displays in the atrium, in front of the DVD collection, Circulation desk and computer lab. |
| Circulation Supervisors Christina Condon and Joseph St. Germain have moved into the Research Center on the 2nd floor. |
| Phase III |
|
Phase III of the library renovation is a complete overhaul of the first floor. Expected to be completed in June 2011, the newly designed space will create a learning hub that integrates technology, information, and expertise in order to strengthen teaching, research, and learning opportunities for Merrimack students, faculty, and staff. It will create a welcoming, vital space that incorporates service points, technology space, social space, and study space for both individuals and groups. The new first floor will also include a cafe. See the virtual tour for more details. The first floor as of June 2011 |