Atlas of the 2008 Elections by
The U.S. presidential election of 2008 was one of the most significant elections in recent American history. Bringing together leading geographers and political scientists, this authoritative atlas analyzes and maps the campaigns, primaries, general election, and key state referenda to provide a rich picture of this watershed event. The contributors offer a comprehensive and detailed assessment of all aspects of the election, providing presidential results at the national level, in major regions, and in swing states. Drilling down to county level, they trace voting patterns for key racial, ethnic, religious, and occupational groups. They also illustrate the campaign strategies of Democratic and Republican party leaders. Moving beyond the national race, the atlas compares important senatorial and gubernatorial races to presidential votes and considers selected state referenda such as marriage amendments, farm animal cruelty, stem cell research, and physician-assisted suicide. For added context and depth, the 2008 election results are compared with previous national elections. Illustrated with more than 200 meticulously drawn full-color maps, the atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for pundits, voters, campaign staffs, and political junkies alike. Contributions by: John Agnew, J. Clark Archer, William Berentsen, Stanley D. Brunn, Thomas E. Chapman, Jeffrey R. Crump, Carl T. Dahlman, David Darmofal, Lisa M. DeChano-Cook, Mark Drayse, Joshua J. Dyck, Ryan D. Enos, Daniel Ervin, John W. Frazier, Megan A. Gall, Andrew Gelman, James G. Gimpel, Alex Ginsburg, Sean P. Gorman, Mark Graham, Nathaniel HadleyDike, John Heppen, Heather Hollen, Taylor Johnson, Kimberly Karnes, Larry Knopp, Matt Landers, Stephen J. Lavin, Jonathan I. Leib, Kenneth C. Martis, John McNulty, Joshua R. Meddaugh, Melissa R. Michelson, Mark A. Moody, Toby Moore, Richard L. Morrill, J. Eric Oliver, Kathleen O'Reilly, Nick Quinton, Mark E. Reisinger, Wesley J. Reisser, Tony Robinson, Fred M. Shelley, Taylor Shelton, Jonathan Taylor, Andrew J. Turner, Tom Vanderhorst, Barney Warf, Robert Watrel, Gerald R. Webster, and Matthew Zook.
Atlas of the 2012 Elections by
The presidential election of 2012 was hotly contested, with polls showing President Barack Obama and Governor Mitt Romney neck-and-neck at various points during the campaign. In the end, Democrat Obama won reelection by nearly four percentage points at the national level; he won 26 states and the District of Columbia to Republican Romney's 24 states. Obama's victory confirmed that the election of the first African American president in 2008 was not a fluke, suggesting that racial attitudes in the United States have indeed matured in the recent past. Bringing together leading political geographers and political scientists, this authoritative atlas analyzes and maps the campaigns, primaries, general election, and key state referenda in the 2012 elections. The contributors offer a comprehensive and detailed assessment of a wide array of election issues and results including presidential primaries; newspaper endorsements and campaign stops; the results of the presidential election at the regional and national levels; and key voting patterns by race and ethnicity, religion, occupational groups, age, and poverty. Moving beyond the national race, the atlas examines important senatorial and gubernatorial races and considers selected state referenda including the marijuana votes in Colorado and Washington and same-sex marriage referenda in Maryland, Washington, Colorado, and Minnesota. The voting patterns identified in 2012 elections are also compared to earlier contests to provide political and geographic context over time. Illustrated with nearly 200 meticulously drawn full-color maps, the atlas will be an essential reference and a fascinating resource for pundits, voters, campaign staffs, and political junkies alike.
Explores and studies voting and public opinion in the United States. Data from the studies conducted is available. ANES is affiliated with Stanford University and the University of Michigan.
Provides election results related to presidential elections in the United States. Presidential election data included such as electoral college votes, popular votes, electors, and more.
Provides federal election results (Senate, House of Representatives, and Presidential Elections) from 1982-present. Includes midterm elections.
Includes brochures, articles, campaign guides, forms, and more related to presidential and congressional elections in the United States.
List of resources that aid in finding election statistics at the Library of Congress which may provide a guide of sources to look into. Any sources that require a membership or subscription are noted.
The MIT's Election Data & Science Lab provides research, data, and other resources about voting in the United States.
A searchable database provided by the Secretary of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, PD43+ provides historical election data for the state of Massachusetts. Data available from the 1970's to present.
The Harvard Election Data Archive provides data sets regarding election results, mainly containing data for elections within the United States.
Statewide Ballot Measures Database (National Conference of State Legislatures)
This page includes demographic and voter turnout data collected as part of the Current Population Survey during election years.
Adapted from Bentley University