Immigration, Asylum, & Refugee Resource Guide

• EOIR Policy Manual, Part III - Board of Immigration Appeals Practice Manual

  The BIA Practice Manual has now been incorporated into the EOIR Policy Manual and outlines "procedures, requirements, and recommendations for practice before the Board of Immigration Appeals." Includes a detailed Table of Contents and topical index. Also on Westlaw.

• Executive Office for Immigration Review—Operating Policy & Procedure Memoranda for OCIJ (OPPM Log)

  Outlines procedures on a variety of topics and offers guidance such as “The Asylum Clock” which explains how the EOIR measures the length of time an asylum application has been pending for removal proceedings. 1984 - present.

• Federal Register Notices for the Executive Office for Immigration Review

  1996-present

• EOIR Policy Manual, Part II - Immigration Court Practice Manual

  The Immigration Court Practice Manual (now part of the EOIR) is intended to provide "uniform procedures, recommendations, and requirements for practice before the Immigration Courts."

Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Deskbook: 

The BALCA Deskbook serves as  reference source for labor certification law, explaining various points of law and providing back-up case citations. Available in print and online from the Department of Labor, Westlaw or Lexis Advance.

• Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals Deskbook (Dept. of Labor)

Foreign Affairs Manual (FAM) & Handbooks:

Department of State publication that includes the organization structures, policies, and procedures that govern the operations of the State Department, the Foreign Service and, when applicable, other federal agencies. The Manual generally covers policies while the handbooks focus on procedures.

• Foreign Affairs Manual & Handbooks (Dept. of State) This link opens in a new window

  Only source for the associated handbooks. Can view the full table of contents for both the Manual and the handbooks or run a keyword search across either publication.

• Asylum Credibility and Corroborating Evidence in the Federal Courts of Appeals

  Published in 2006. Third Circuit coverage begins on page 52 of the pdf. Must Shepardize/KeyCite cases to ensure they are still good law. NOTE: this publication was previously posted to the Department of Justice's website but has since been removed. The link above takes you to the archive copy hosted by the Wayback Machine/Internet Archive.

• Asylum Statistics by Nationality

  Statistics gathered from the Immigration Courts regarding number of asylum petitions received, granted, denied, abandoned and withdrawn for each nationality listed. Covers 2012-2016.

• EIOR Fact Sheets

  Offers an agency guide as well as overviews of many agency programs and procedures

• Immigration Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security

  Includes reports on refugees and asylees as well as annual statistics for nationalizations and permanent residents. See the "Yearbook of Immigration Statistics" link for a list of prior yearbooks (1996 - 2018)

• Office of Refugee Resettlement-Federal Guidance & Authority

  Part of the Administration for Children & Families (a division of the Dept. of Health & Human Welfare). Offers links to regulations and legislation governing this office. See the "Policy" tab for policy guides.

• Statistics Year Book

  Available for years 2000 - 2018 with some quarterly reports for 2019. Covers cases received and completed, pending caseloads and open cases.