EDU 6145 Diversity and Difference for K-12 Educators (Bardetti)

The purpose of this unit is for students to learn about one of humanity’s darkest chapters—the systematic mass murder of the Jews that came to be known as the “Final Solution of the Jewish Question.” This includes learning about the Einsatzgruppen (mobile killing squads), the Nazi extermination camps, and the perpetrators and collaborators who took part in the murder. Students also learn how Jews attempted to maintain their humanity in the camps despite the inhumane conditions and brutal treatment they faced

In this lesson, students will learn about the benefits and drawbacks of hashtag activism while developing their own position on its effectiveness.

In this lesson, students will learn about historical and current immigration policies and how anti-immigrant bias, nativism and nationalism have impacted these policies in the United States.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to understand more about antisemitic attitudes and stereotypes by people around the world, explore the Global 100 website and consider what can be done about antisemitic attitudes.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about and reflect upon athletes who have taken stands on political issues.

This high school lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about Black Lives Matter and the activists involved, explore the controversy about using the term “All lives matter,” and posit their point of view in writing to a person of their choice.

The purpose of this unit is for students to understand the effects of the Holocaust on its most innocent victims—children—since targeting babies and children was an important step in the attempt by the Nazis to erase the Jews and their future. Students will also research post-Holocaust genocides and analyze children’s rights violations. In addition, students are provided an opportunity to develop a position on whether an event the magnitude of the Holocaust could happen again and to consider the role and responsibility of the individual in seeing that it does not.

In this lesson, students will begin by examining the many meanings of the word “American” and describing what goes into a successful, engaging, meaningful civics education

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about Columbus Day, reflect on why some cities and states have renamed it Indigenous Peoples Day and consider their own points of view on the topic by engaging in a writing project to express their perspective.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the conditions in the detention facilities, reflect on the impact this has on migrants and those seeking asylum and explore possible actions to address the humanitarian crisis.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to understand how and why COVID-19 disproportionately affects African American people and reflect on what can be done about it.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the Covid-19 vaccination rollout, understand the racial and other disparities in Covid-19 cases and outcomes, and explore the concepts of equity and equality as they relate to prioritizing vaccination.

This lesson will help students reflect on some of the underlying problems and issues that emerged from these cases, undertake research and present viable solutions. Students will learn about some of strategies and reforms that have been circulating and work in small groups to investigate and present one of these ideas in more depth.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to explore the purpose of policing and public safety in the U.S., to identify and understand specific changes to improve policing and prevent these murders, and to reflect on their own views of policing and write an essay or speech to express their vision and approach.

This lesson provides an opportunity for high school students to learn about privilege, explore how it manifests in different ways and reflect on their own relationship to privilege.

In this unit, students learn about the origins of antisemitism and how this hatred was exploited by the Nazis during the 1920s and 1930s as part of their racist ideology. Students define the terms antisemitism and stereotype, review text and video sources, and create a timeline reflecting examples of antisemitism throughout history. Students will investigate how Nazi ideology created new forms of antisemitism, and analyze primary source material illustrating Nazi propaganda. Visual history testimonies are used throughout the lesson to deepen students’ understanding of lesson themes.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about Gen Z, reflect on their identities in order to create self-portraits/quotes that represent themselves and reflect on images and quotes by a wide diversity of this generation.

In this lesson, students explore implicit bias and self-reflect about situations in which they have experienced or encountered everyday type of bias.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the Negro Leagues and the segregation that forced a separate league, reflect on their perspectives regarding the decision by MLB, and write an essay that expresses their point of view.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to define antisemitism, identify and categorize incidences of antisemitism, gain an understanding of the Pyramid of Hate and learn more about the rise of antisemitism in Europe.

In this lesson, students reflect on the killing of Michael Brown through the lens of race, privilege and power. Students will examine the various levels of racial disparities in the criminal justice system and explore the role white privilege plays in the different interactions people have with the police and the criminal justice system.

This lesson enables students to learn more about the history of women and the presidency, analyze how sexism surfaces during campaigns and explore their own points of view about these issues.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn about Georgia’s new voting laws and the corporations who spoke out about it, explore their own opinions about corporate responsibility to speak out and reflect on how they can influence corporations and others to take action on issues of social injustice.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the Stonewall uprising, reflect on LGBTQ rights and activism prior to and after Stonewall, and curate content around important milestones in the history of LGBTQ rights.

In this lesson, students will analyze the repeal of the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA). They will do this by reading the multiple perspectives found on the Supreme Court of the United States and by analyzing the history of DOMA and marriage equality in the United States.

This lesson focuses on some of the structures that supported the system of white supremacy in the South. First, students watch a video of historical footage illustrating white resistance to desegregation. Then students examine a set of ordinances to see how one city legally enforced racism. Finally, students analyze a primary source document that advertises a Ku Klux Klan meeting.

In this lesson, students will analyze Douglass’s speech, "What the Black Man Wants," and his argument for why Black men should have the right to vote. They will then create their own artistic argument from his speech by using a method of poetry called blackout or erasure poetry.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the history and rationale for reparations and reflect on their own point of view as well as consider the opinions of others.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to reflect on how their experiences with playing sports and participating in other activities affects them, learn more about these bills that aim to prevent transgender students from playing sports, and consider what they can do about it.

This lesson provides an opportunity for students to learn more about the women’s suffrage movement, reflect on how Black women were excluded from it and explore a central question about the centennial anniversary by writing an essay.

In this lesson, students will learn about two young activists and the contributions they made to the Civil Rights Movement.