This guide is INACTIVE. Links to resources may be out of date. To view our current list of online guides visit our LibGuides Home Page.
See below for some databases to start with when researching FYW1050 topics.
To see an A-Z list of databases that McQuade Library subscribes to, click here.
Go here for a list of databases organized by subject area.
For off-campus access, enter the 14-digit barcode on the back of your MACKCard and your NOBLE online catalog password.
Click HERE to set your password, or see our NOBLE Evergreen (online catalog) guide. Contact us if you have any problems.
A key source for research in most disciplines covering over 4,500 peer-reviewed and popular publications plus cited references for 1,000 titles.
Comprehensive collection on communication and mass media.
Search this comprehensive collection of journals, books and conference papers on all aspects and levels of education.
Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder and Search to find international viewpoints, articles, statistics, multimedia and primary source material on global issues and current events.
Find multidisciplinary articles on human impact to the environment including climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Archive of core scholarly journals in all disciplines, plus ARTstor images. JSTOR Collection includes Arts & Sciences I-XIII, Biological Sciences, Business II-IV, Health & General Science, Ireland Archive, Jewish Studies and Sustainability collections.
Find information on hot social topics from opinion articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and websites.
Search summaries of articles, chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines from the health and social sciences including business, linquistics and law.
ScienceDirect College Edition provides access to full text articles for over 1900 titles in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social & Behavioral Sciences collections from 1995 to present.
Boolean Operators
Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to connect keywords and search terms. Using these operators helps you search the databases more effectively, and efficiently by retrieving more accurate results.
Use AND to connect two unlike words and narrow your search:
Use OR to connect two like words and broaden your search:
Use NOT to exclude words from your search results:
Truncation
Use truncation to maximize complex searches. Place an asterisk (*) after the root of one your keywords to perform a Truncated search. This search is useful for plural terms, or words with multiple endings as this will search for all the endings at the same time.
For example:
Once you complete a search, use the database search tools to limit the quantity and type of your results. While the tools below are from an EBSCO database, all McQuade databases feature tools that will limit results to sources that are scholarly or peer reviewed, published within a specific date range, or available as Full-Text.
Once you select an item from your list of results, you will see more options to help you save and cite your sources. This tools listed below are from an EBSCO database, but all McQuade databases feature similar options.
Curious to find out whether or not McQuade Library has access to a particular journal? Enter the title in search box below.
July 2020: If the search box is not opening in a new window, go directly to Find Journals/Publications in MACKsearch