Gulf Oil Spill Resources: Environmental Impact

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration is the leading governmental agency on oil spills. A gateway to news, trajectory maps and models, fishery closures, and more.

Contains daily updates on the incident, links to other governmental response sites, as well as White House videos and blogs.

The Environmental Protection Agency's response site contains air, water, sediment, and waste management information and data.

Centralized information on the impact of the oil spill on fish, wildlife, and habitats.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health provides information on emergency responders and cleanup responses to the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill.

Provides status updates on national parks in the Gulf region, as well as information regarding natural resources at risk.

The United States Geologic Service's Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill page contains maps, publications, satellite imagery, and information on wildlife issues.

The Department of Energy is providing online access to schematics, pressure tests, diagnostic results and other data about the malfunctioning blowout preventer.

GeoPlatform.gov/gulfresponse is a new online tool that provides you with near-real time information about the response effort. Developed by NOAA with the University of New Hampshire's Coastal Response Research Center, the EPA, U.S. Coast Guard, and the Department of Interior, the site offers you a “one-stop shop” for spill response information.

Defenders of Wildlife is a national, nonprofit membership organization dedicated to the protection of all native animals and plants in their natural communities. Opposed to offshore drilling, Defenders of Wildlife maintain a page on dangers to wildlife from offshore drilling generally, as well as specific impacts from the Deepwater Horizon incident.

The Center uses biological data, legal expertise, and the citizen petition provision of the powerful Endangered Species Act to obtain sweeping, legally binding new protections for animals, plants, and their habitat. Campaigning to end offshore drilling, the Center updates environmental information on the Deepwater Horizon incident on a daily basis.

Audubon's mission is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds, other wildlife, and their habitats for the benefit of humanity and the earth's biological diversity. Provides frequently updated information on the impact of the Deepwater Horizon oil spill on Gulf birds and their habitat.

Audubon Nature Institute is a family of nine museums and parks dedicated to nature. Contains information about wildlife rehabilitation efforts in species impacted by the Deepwater Horizon incident.

Oceana, founded in 2001, is the largest international organization focused solely on ocean conservation.

This paper is a review of the literature on oil spill dispersants published from 1997 to
January, 2002. As in the literature before this time period, it was found that results are often
contradictory from one study to another. The paper also identifies and summarizes recent
advances in dispersant effectiveness, toxicity, and application technology.

The purpose of this research is to document what is currently known about the use of dispersants and chemical herders in fresh and brackish waters to assist decision makers when they are confronted with these conditions. An extensive review of worldwide scientific and technical journals has been undertaken to identify relevant literature on the use of chemical treating agents for oil spill response in fresh and brackish water.

NOAA’s Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Program (DARRP) collaborates with other agencies, industry, and citizens to protect and restore coastal and marine resources threatened or injured by oil spills, releases of hazardous substances, and vessel groundings.

State fact sheets provide convenient, detailed information about NOAA’s Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Program's (DARRP) natural resource incident assessments and restoration projects.

NOAA’s Damage Assessment, Remediation, and Restoration Program (DARRP) collaborates with other agencies, industry, and citizens to protect and restore coastal and marine resources threatened or injured by oil spills, releases of hazardous substances, and vessel groundings.
Ongoing oil spill; Natural Resource Damage Assessment under way: currently in the Preassessment Phase.