Reference Sources - PSY 1000 - Introduction to Psychology (Shaw)

What are Reference Sources?

Reference sources are available in general or subject specific contexts and in print or online formats.

Examples:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Almanacs
Glossaries
Handbooks
Atlases
Bibliographies
Indexes

Reference materials are good starting points for research projects because they can provide:

background or introductory information on a topic
terminology or additional keywords to use in further searches
a bibliography listing other materials on a topic

Your PSY Librarian

Lyena Chavez

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Career, Communication, Criminology, Education & Social Policy, English, History, Humanities, Music, Performing Arts, Social Sciences, Theatre, Writing

Online Reference Shelf

Biography - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Free site available to all. See also Britannica sources provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners for Children, Young Adults, Reference and Escolar Online.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.

Encyclopedia of Psychology
~ Jacksonville State University

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Find introductory articles in all disciplines, business plans, directories and more.
MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.

Virtual Reference Shelf
~ Library of Congress

Reference Books/E-Books

Below are selected reference books about Psychology. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the 2nd floor between BF1 and BF990 to find more materials.

Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment
Call Number: [REF]BF176 .C654 2003
ISBN: 047141610X
The concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Call Number: [REF]BF31 .E52 2004
ISBN: 0471220361
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior
Call Number: [REF] HV5804 .E53 2001
ISBN: 0028655419
Encyclopedia of human emotions
Call Number: [REF]BF531 .E55 1999
ISBN: 0028647661
The encyclopedia of memory and memory disorders
Call Number: [REF]BF371 .N55 2001
ISBN: 0816041415
Encyclopedia of psychology
Call Number: [REF]BF31 .E52 2000
ISBN: 1557981876
The encyclopedia of sleep and sleep disorders
Call Number: [REF] RC547 .Y34 2001
ISBN: 0816040893
The encyclopedia of trauma and traumatic stress disorders
Call Number: [REF] BF175.5.P75 D63 2010
ISBN: 9780816067640
Handbook of child psychology
Call Number: [REF]BF721 .H242 2006
ISBN: 0471272876
The handbook of cognitive neuropsychology : what deficits reveal about the human mind
Call Number: [REF] QP360.5 .H357 2001
ISBN: 0863775926
Handbook of eating disorders and obesity
Call Number: [REF]RC552.E18 H362 2004
ISBN: 0471230731
Learning & memory
Call Number: [REF]BF318 .E53 2003
ISBN: 0028656199
Mental measurements yearbook
Call Number: [REF] Z5814.P8 B94
The Oxford handbook of memory
Call Number: [REF]BF371 .O84 2000
ISBN: 0195122658
Textbook of biological psychiatry
Call Number: [REF]RC341 .T438 2004
ISBN: 0471434787