McQuade LibGuides: Social Justice: Reference Sources

What are Reference Sources?

Reference sources are available in general or subject specific contexts and in print or online formats.

Examples:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Almanacs
Glossaries
Handbooks
Atlases
Bibliographies
Indexes

Reference materials are good starting points for research projects because they can provide:

background or introductory information on a topic
terminology or additional keywords to use in further searches
a bibliography listing other materials on a topic

Your SJ Librarian

Lyena Chavez

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Career, Communication, Criminology, Education & Social Policy, English, History, Humanities, Music, Performing Arts, Social Sciences, Theatre, Writing

Online Reference Shelf

Biography - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Free site available to all. See also Britannica sources provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners for Children, Young Adults, Reference and Escolar Online.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
~ Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
~ Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
~ Int'l Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Global Issues - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder and Search to find international viewpoints, articles, statistics, multimedia and primary source material on global issues and current events. Courtesy of MBLC.
MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.
Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find information on hot social topics from opinion articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and websites.

Social Science Dictionary
The Free Social Science Dictionary gives access to the definitions of more than 6000 terms. Adapting a wide approach Free Social Science Dictionary covers the disciplines of Economics, Education, History, Political Science, Psychology and Sociology.

Selected SJ Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by Sherwood Thompson
Call Number: E-Book
Global Social Issues: an Encyclopedia by James Ciment; Christopher G. Bates
Call Number: E-Book
An encyclopedia of human rights in the United States by H. Victor Condé
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of activism and social justice by Gary L. Anderson
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society by Robert W. Kolb
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of Community by Karen Christensen
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of race and crime by Helen Taylor Greene
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of race and racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: E-Book
Encyclopedia of social problems by Vincent N. Parrillo
Call Number: E-Book
Handbook for Social Justice in Counseling Psychology by Rebecca L. Toporek
Call Number: E-Book
Routledge international handbook of social justice by Michael Reisch
Call Number: E-Book
The dictionary of human geography by Derek Gregory
Call Number: E-Book