Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) Guide

This guide will help educators learn about the 2016 Massachusetts Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) Curriculum Framework and provide resources that align with standards

The Standards

Digital LiteLego Creationsracy and Computer Science (DLCS) knowledge, reasoning, and skills are essential both to prepare students for personal and civic efficacy in the twenty-first century and to prepare and inspire a much larger and more diverse number of students to pursue the innovative and creative careers of the future. The abilities to effectively use and create technology to solve complex problems are the new and essential literacy skills of the twenty-first century. Digital literacy and computer science standards in this Framework articulate critical learning outcomes for Kindergarten through Grade 12 to help prepare students for success in a global world. The standards represent the core elements of digital literacy and computer science and are intended to drive coherent, rigorous instruction which results in the mastery and application of digital literacy and computer science knowledge, reasoning, and skills.

Key Features

  1. The DLCS standards include core concepts in four strands:
    1. Computing and Society,
    2. Digital Tools and Collaboration
    3. Computing Systems
    4.  Computational Thinking
  2. The DLCS standards articulate practices necessary for success. 
  3. The DLCS standards coherently progress from Kindergarten to grade 12. 
  4. The DLCS standards prepare students for post-secondary opportunities – civic, college, and career.
  5. The DLCS standards complement other Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks.

2016 Massachusetts Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) Curriculum Framework

Digital Literacy and Computer Science (DLCS) Learning Standards and Instructional Resources (From the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education)



Examples of MA Schools using these Standards