McQuade LibGuides: Gulf Oil Spill Resources: Getting Started

Gulf Oil Spill

McQuade's Green Grant

This project is being funded through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners with funds from LSTA (Library Services and Technology Act), a Federal source of library funding provided by the Institute of Museum and Library Services

To learn more about McQuade Library's Green Grant, visit our "Greening Merrimack" website.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Premier
Full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Use these databases to find articles relating to the THIS IS A TEST oil spill. For off campus access, use the 14 digit number on the back of your MACKCard.

See "Current Issues" tab for additional resources related to different aspects of the oil spill (legal, environmental, health, etc.).

GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source - Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals
MEDLINE (via EbscoHost)
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE allows users to search abstracts from over 4,600 current biomedical journals.
Proquest Biology
Includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 525 titles, with over 470 titles in full-text.
ProQuest Science
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 490 titlesâ€”with more than 380 available in full text.
PubMed Central
U.S. National Institutes of Health's (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
PubMed's MEDLINE
Includes entire MEDLINE via EBSCO database plus more than 1 million additional life sciences article citations that are not in MEDLINE via EBSCO.
PubMed is the NLM's premier database of scholarly citations covering nearly 4,500 journals published in the U.S. and more than 70 other countries. PubMed is more current than MEDLINE via EBSCO and provides access to citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing (pre-1950).
more...less...
http://library.rpi.edu/update.do?artcenterkey=1759
Comparison of Ebsco's MEDLINE versus PubMed
Wiley Interscience
Search the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals published by John Wiley & Sons.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of 10,033 active full-text journals, many are peer-reviewed and featured in prominent citation indexes. ASU curates and indexes open access (OA) journals and currently includes 6,827 active global OA journals. ASU covers

GOSIC

Information from this guide was adapted from the University of South Florida Libraries' Gulf Oil Spill Information Center.

Visit the GOSIC to find additional in-depth information and data concerning the BP THIS IS A TEST oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico and the clean-up efforts.

Gulf Oil Spill Resources: Getting Started

Gulf Oil Spill

McQuade's Green Grant

Recommended Databases

GOSIC

Sample Articles from Academic OneFile Database