When searching for information about your delegate, you may find information about them in an online finding aid to an archival collection. Here are some things to know:

• Archives are often organized into collections. A collection may contain the records of a particular organization, group, family, or individual (such as your delegate).
• Some collections have been digitized and are available online. If not, online finding aids can provide helpful clues, even if the collection has not been digitized and you aren't able to access the content. Finding aids describe all the items in an archival collection and usually provide biographical information about the organization or individual represented by the collection. Check the rest of the finding aid for clues about organizations, events, and causes your subject may have been involved in.
• Have questions about a collection? Reach out to the archivist or librarian who manages it! In some cases, they might even be able to provide you with pictures of content from the collection.

Department of Oral History, University of South Carolina Libraries

"The Department of Oral History records the memories and descriptions of daily lives, communities, families, and notable events that shaped South Carolina and continue to do so, and to make those stories freely available to a wide audience."

• 1977 International Women's Year (IWY) Oral History Collection
• List of additional primary and secondary sources

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

"The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever. Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching a historical topic that interests you."

• NARA digital materials related to the NWC

University of Houston Libraries, Special Collections

"Special Collections preserves, safeguards, organizes, and describes materials in our collecting areas, making them available for current and future generations. We support the teaching and research activities of the University of Houston, and serves as a resource for the scholarly community and the general public."

• UH Digital Collections related to the NWC

• List of National Women's Conference delegates with biographical information

Google

Put your subject's name in quotes and add archival keywords to find collections. For example, try a search like this: "A. Philip Randolph" AND (papers OR manuscripts OR archives OR collection) AND (digital or digitized). Google can be helpful for finding collections in libraries, archives, historical societies and other institutions that may not turn up in searches of databases like WorldCat and ArchiveGrid.

ArchiveGrid

Searchable database containing over 7 million descriptions of archival collections in 1,400 libraries, museums, historical societies and manuscript repositories around the world. Useful for identifying archival repositories by location. 90% of the records in ArchiveGrid are from WorldCat. Select the SUMMARY view to see which repositories hold collections. To limit search results to descriptions that link to digital content, add "has_links:1" (without the quotes) to your search. Note that some results may include links to electronic finding aids instead of or in addition to links to digitized content.

SNAC (Social Networks and Archival Context)

"[A] free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world."

NUCMC (National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections)

Similarly to ArchiveGrid, NUCMC is a catalog containing records of archival collections across many different repositories in the U.S. However, it is less user-friendly than ArchiveGrid and more difficult to search. Find the search forms under the heading "Searching Manuscripts": Searching on OCLC WorldCat. Ask a librarian if you would like guidance on using NUCMC.