Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 2410 The Exceptional Learner (Welby)

Databases

Psychology Databases

Education Databases:

Interdisciplinary Databases

Once you complete a search, use the database search tools to limit the quantity and type of your results. While the tools below are from an EBSCO database, all McQuade databases feature tools that will limit results to sources that are schoarly or peer reviewed, published within a specific date range, or availble as Full-Text.

Use the Thesaurus tool found in the top toolbar of EBSCO databases to find for more precise search terms and subjects that will produce better search results. 

  • Search for the keywords related to your search in the "Browsing ERIC--Thesaurus" bar and click browse.
  • This will provide you with a list of terms that may help you focus or broaden your topic, as well as providing you with other related terms to try. 

Use the Topic Finder in Gale Databases to find sources organized visually by subject.  

 

Boolean Operators

Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to connect keywords and search terms. Using these operators helps you search the databases more effectively, and efficiently by retrieving more accurate results. 

Use AND to connect two unlike words and narrow your search:

  • self esteem AND adolescent development

Use OR to connect two similar words and broaden your search:  

  • teenager OR adolescent

Use NOT to exclude words from your search results:

  • student NOT college

Truncation

Use truncation to maximize complex searches. Place an asterisk (*) after the root of one your keywords to perform a Truncated search.  This search is useful for plural terms, or words with multiple endings as this will search for all the endings at the same time.

For example:

  • adolescen* -  will search for adolescence, adolescent, adolescents, adolescent development
  • quantiative* - will search for quantitative research, quantitative research methods, quantitative research study, quantitative study