LibGuides: Introduction to Engineering: Reference Sources

Reference Books/E-Books

Below are a selected few reference books about Civil Engineering and related topics. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the 2nd floor between TA and TH to find more materials.

TA - Engineering (General). Civil engineering (General)
TC - Hydraulic engineering. Ocean engineering
TD - Environemtnal technology. Sanitary engineering
TE - Highway engineering. Roads and pavements
TF - Railroad engineering and operation
TG - Bridge engineering
TH - Building construction

Building the world : an encyclopedia of the great engineering projects in history
Call Number: [REF] T55.5 .B58 2006
ISBN: 0313333734
Dictionary of civil engineering : English-French
Call Number: [REF] TA9 .K88 2004
ISBN: 0306483173
Dictionary of water and waste management
Call Number: [REF]TD9 .S37 2002
ISBN: 0750646381
Available online and in print in the reference area.
Reference guide to famous engineering landmarks of the world : bridges, tunnels, dams, roads, and other structures
Call Number: [REF] TA15 .B42 1997
ISBN: 0897749669
A Dictionary of Civil, Water Resources and Environmental Engineering by Harry C. Friebel
ISBN: 0983908508
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Water Dictionary by Nancy McTigue (Editor); James M. Symons (Editor)
ISBN: 158321741X
Publication Date: 2010-06-05
A biographical dictionary of American civil engineers. by American Society of Civil Engineers. Committee on History and Heritage of American Civil Engineering (Author).
Call Number: [REF] TA139 .A53 1991

Online Reference Shelf

Biography - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Free site available to all. See also Britannica sources provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners for Children, Young Adults, Reference and Escolar Online.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
Gale Ebooks, formerly GVRL Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Find introductory articles in all disciplines, business plans, directories and more. Name and interface change on Sept. 13, 2019.
MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.

Virtual Reference Shelf
~ Library of Congress

RSMeans

RSMeans Building Construction Cost Data by Stephen C. Plotner (Editor)
ISBN: 1940238501
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
The 73rd annual edition of the RSMeans Building Construction Cost Data (2015) available in the reference collection on the 2nd floor of McQuade Library, right outside of the Research Center.
RSMeans Cost Data by Means Engineering Staff
ISBN: 9781118335901
Publication Date: 2012-04-10
How to Estimate with RSMeans Data by Saleh A. Mubarak; R. S. Means Company Staff
ISBN: 9781118025284
Publication Date: 2012-04-17
Illustrated Construction Dictionary by Means Engineering Staff
ISBN: 9781118133521
Publication Date: 2012-10-16
Estimating Building Costs for the Residential and Light Commercial Construction Professional by Wayne J. Del Pico
ISBN: 9781118099414
Publication Date: 2012-04-03