Skip to Main Content

ENG 1050 Introduction to College Writing (Stokes)

This guide is INACTIVE. Links to resources may be out of date. To view our current list of online guides visit our LibGuides Home Page.

Manage your Citations and Sources with NoodleTools

 Stay organized, evaluate information, build accurate citations, archive source material, take notes, outline topics, and prepare to write using NoodleTools- a citation management tool that is free to Merrimack students, faculty, and staff.

  1. Use the link below to go to the Merrimack NoodleTools subscription page
  2. Register to create an account and sign-in
  3. Select the project you are currently working on, or click on the green New Project button on the left corner
    • If starting a new project, make sure to use the style your professor requires.
  4. Click the "Sources" tab at the top of the page, then click on the green "Create a New Citation" button on the left corner

Copy individual citations, or export your entire bibliography to Word or Google Docs. 

APA Formatting & Citations

APA (American Psychological Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the social sciences.

If you are asked to use APA format, be sure to consult the Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, located in McQuade Library's reference collection:

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is the gold standard for online tools to teach you about citations and formatting.

From the website you can learn to:

  • Format in-text, and full bibliographical citations for a variety of source types
  • Follow formatting and style guidelines for a variety assignments

Chicago Style Formatting & Citations

Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the humanities, particularly in the disciplines of the Arts, English, History, Religion & Theological Studies.   

If you are asked to use CMOS format, be sure to consult the Chicago Manual of Style, located in McQuade Library's reference collection:

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is the gold standard for online tools to teach you about citations and formatting.

From the website you can learn to:

  • Format in-text, and full bibliographical citations for a variety of source types
  • Follow formatting and style guidelines for a variety assignments

MLA Formatting & Citations

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

If you are asked to use MLA format, be sure to consult a copy of MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, located in McQuade Library's reference collection: 

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) is the gold standard for online tools to teach you about citations and formatting.

From the website you can learn to:

  • Format in-text, and full bibliographical citations for a variety of source types
  • Follow formatting and style guidelines for a variety assignments

Writing Center

For help with organizing, writing and citing, head for the Writing Center on the 3rd floor of McQuade - room 346.

While it is ok to drop in during slower times of the year, make an appointment to ensure a time slot by registering and setting an time at https://merrimack.mywconline.com. 

More information about how to register and schedule can be found on the Writing Center homepage and in MyMack > Student Info (top menu) > Writing Center (left menu)

Writing Center Hours

Monday - Thursday:   9 am to 9 pm
Friday                         9 am to 1 pm
Sunday                       4 pm to 9 pm