Get Started - CMH 5020 - Research & Evaluation (Fall 2021) - McQuade LibGuides at Merrimack College

What about Wikipedia?

For most topics, it's a good idea to use and cite scholarly works rather than Wikipedia.

Visit McQuade's "Wikipedia: Researchers Beware" page for more information.

McQuade Library subscribes to a few online reference sources.

Credo Reference
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles.
Gale Biography in Context
Authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Find introductory articles in all disciplines, business plans, directories and more.
General Reference Center Gold, now in General OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of reference books, newspapers and articles for quick information on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more. Merged with General OneFile in late July 2019.

MasterFILE Premier
provides full text for nearly 2,050 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975 and includes more than 350 full text reference books, 82,968 biographies, 90,915 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.