LibGuides: Antiracism Resources: Criminology and Criminal Justice

Websites/Resource Pages

Videos & Films

Changing Carceral Systems through Compassion, Practice, and Research || Harvard Radcliffe Institute

Description Racial disparities in our carceral systems are profound and troubling. As a society, we appear to be at an inflection point where racial justice is a core priority for the incoming Biden administration and a majority of the public. This program brings together the compassionate work of a practitioner on the front lines with the expertise of a world-renowned researcher in criminal justice policy. Together, they discuss the key challenges of racial inequity in carceral systems along with potential solutions that could help realize justice.

13th - Directed by Ava DuVernay (Available for free via Netflix on YouTube)

When They See Us (Available on Netflix)

Say Her Name: The Life and Death of Sandra Bland (Documentary)

Books

The Fence: a police cover-up along Boston's racial divide by Dick Lehr
Call Number: HV8148.B72 L44 2009
ISBN: 9780060780982
Publication Date: 2009-06-23
Arbitrary justice : the power of the American prosecutor by Angela J. Davis
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2007
Policing the Black Man by Angela J. Davis
Call Number: HV9950 .P64 2017
ISBN: 9781101871270
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781595581037
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780812994520
Publication Date: 2014-10-21
Racializing Justice, Disenfranchising Lives by Manning Marable (Editor); Keesha Middlemass (Editor); Ian Steinberg (Editor)
Call Number: HV9950 .R34 2007
ISBN: 9781403977663
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
Law Enforcement in the Age of Black Lives Matter by Sandra E. Weissinger (Contribution by, Editor); Warren K. Graham (Contribution by); Dee Hill-Zuganelli (Contribution by); Ashley N. Hurst (Contribution by); Shakira A. Kennedy (Contribution by); Nolan T. Krueger (Contribution by); Felicia W. Mack (Contribution by); Rebecca G. Martínez (Contribution by); Folusho Otuyelu (Contribution by); Wornie Reed (Contribution by); F. Tyler Sergent (Contribution by); Dwayne A. Mack (Contribution by, Editor); Hector Y. Adames (Contribution by); Marlon L. Bailey (Contribution by); Derrick R. Brooms (Contribution by); Nayeli Y. Chavez-Dueñas (Contribution by); Kevin Cokley (Contribution by); Ramya Garba (Contribution by); Tony Gaskew (Contribution by)
Call Number: HV9950 .L39 2018
ISBN: 9781498553599
Publication Date: 2017-12-29

Finding Articles

For the complete list of article databases, check out the A-Z List.

For off campus access, login using your Merrimack login and password.

Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A key source for research in most disciplines covering over 4,500 peer-reviewed and popular publications plus cited references for 1,000 titles.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
CJA is a key source for criminal justice and criminology topics covering over 400 journals with full text of 300 magazines and journals including cited references.
Criminal Justice - Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search 150 publications for a wide range of law enforcement, security and criminology topics. A subset of Academic OneFile, courtesy of MBLC & MLS
Criminal Justice Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals and trade publications on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends, plus crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers and career preparation which may not be in MACKsearch. Part of ProQuest Central
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Lists free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Also included in our Journal Finder.
Academic OneFile Select, formerly Expanded Academic ASAP - Gale This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Courtesy MBLC.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search the digital archive of core scholarly journals in all disciplines, plus ARTstor images. Merrimack's subscription included Arts & Sciences I-XIII, Biological Sciences, Business II-IV, Health & General Science, Ireland Archive, Jewish Studies and Sustainability collections. JSTOR has also added additional resources for the COVID-19 emergency through June 30, 2022.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search this Project Muse Standard Collection of humanities, arts and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Find articles and more in all disciplines including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. Includes most ProQuest resources except historical newspapers, newspaper collections, and Nursing and Allied Health Source.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search Sage Journals on topics in all disciplines.
Social Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Search a wide range of scholarly journals, magazines and select newspapers for articles on the social science topics. A subset of ProQuest Central.
SocINDEX with Full Text - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search keywords and sociological thesaurus terms for articles on all sociology topics with full text from 300 journals plus books, monographs and conference papers.

Anti-racism OR Antiracism
Racism
Institutional racism
White privilege
Criminal Justice System