LibGuides: Antiracism Resources: Philosophy

Videos

13th - Directed by Ava DuVernay (Available for free via Netflix on YouTube)

"In this Wireless Philosophy video, Eduardo Mendieta (Penn State University) asks "What are the consequences of race thinking and the institutional and legal forms of segregation if race is not real? Why do we categorize race as a real thing based on visual perception and how is such a category anti-democratic?"

Confronting Discrimination and Prejudice
Call Number: E-Video
Publication Date: 2008
Giving Voice: Today's Kids Get Real about Bias by Infobase,(film distributor.). USC Shoah Foundation Institute (Firm)
Call Number: E-Video
Publication Date: 2004
Herskovits at the Heart of Blackness
Call Number: E-Video
Publication Date: 2009

Books

Black Philosopher, White Academy by Bruce Kuklick; William Fontaine (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780812240986
Publication Date: 2008-07-23
Lines of Descent: W.E.B. Du Bois and the emergence of identity by Kwame Anthony Appiah
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780674724914
Publication Date: 2014-02-27
Race: a philosophical introduction by Paul C. Taylor
Call Number: HT1521 .T36 2013
ISBN: 9780745649658
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Caliban's Reason by Paget Henry
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780415926454
Publication Date: 2000-03-13
A Companion to African Philosophy by Kwasi Wiredu (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780631207511
Publication Date: 2004-01-09
We Who Are Dark by Tommie Shelby
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780674025714
Publication Date: 2007-09-15
Black Feminist Thought by Patricia Hill Collins
Call Number: HQ1426 .C633 2000
ISBN: 0415924847
Publication Date: 1999-12-07
Cornel West and Philosophy: The Quest for Social Justice by Clarence Johnson
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781134727742
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Black Skin, White Masks by Frantz Fanon; Richard Philcox (Translator)
Call Number: GN645 .F313 2008
ISBN: 9780802143006
Publication Date: 2008-09-10
Doing Philosophy Personally: Thinking about Metaphysics, Theism, and Antiblack Racism by Dwayne A. Tunstall
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780823251605
Publication Date: 2013-03-20
Freedom Is a Constant Struggle by Frank Barat (Editor); Cornel West (Preface by); Angela Y. Davis
Call Number: JC571 .D38 2016 (and E-book)
ISBN: 9781608465644
Publication Date: 2016-02-09
Latin American Philosophy from Identity to Radical Exteriority by Alejandro Arturo Vallega
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780253012487
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Black Is Beautiful by Paul C. Taylor
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781405150620
Publication Date: 2016-05-23
Philosophy and Literature in Latin America by Jorge J. E. Gracia (Editor); Mireye Camurati (Editor)
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780791400388
Publication Date: 1989-06-01
Blackness Visible by Charles W. Mills
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780801434679
Publication Date: 1998-04-07
Race after Sartre: Antiracism, Africana Existentialism, Postcolonialism by Jonathan Judaken
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781435675087
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Race and Racism in Continental Philosophy by Robert Bernasconi (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780253110671
Publication Date: 2003-06-18
Look, a White! by George Yancy
Call Number: HT1521 .Y36 2012
ISBN: 9781439908532
Publication Date: 2012-05-06
A Short History of African Philosophy by Barry Hallen; B. Hallen
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9780253215314
Publication Date: 2002-05-23
Dark Ghettos by Tommie Shelby
Call Number: HV4045 .S44 2016
ISBN: 9780674970502
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Unmuted: conversations on prejudice, oppression, and social justice by Myisha Cherry
Call Number: HM1091 .C44 2019
ISBN: 9780190906771
Publication Date: 2019-03-08
Women, Race & Class by Angela Y. Davis
Call Number: E185.86 .D383 1983
ISBN: 0394713516
Publication Date: 1983-02-12
Ain't I a Woman by Bell Hooks
Call Number: E185.86 .H73 1992
ISBN: 0896081303
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
Black Bodies, White Gazes by George Yancy; Linda Martin Alcoff (Foreword by)
Call Number: E185 .Y32 2017
ISBN: 9781442258341
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
The Ethics and Mores of Race by Naomi Zack
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781442211278
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
White Privilege and Black Rights by Naomi Zack
Call Number: HV7936.R3 Z33 2015
ISBN: 9781442250550
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Dark Voices by Shamoon Zamir
Call Number: E185.97.D73 Z36 1995
ISBN: 0226978524
Publication Date: 1995-10-01

Finding Articles

For the complete list of article databases, check out the A-Z List.

For off campus access, login using your Merrimack login and password.

Philosopher's Index - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Find articles on all areas of philosophy from over 600 scholarly philosophy journals from around the world with links to fulltext in other databases. From the Philosopher’s Information Center.
Philosophy Documentation Center This link opens in a new window
Portal to 8 philosophy journal subscriptions including Augustinian Studies.
Philosophy Documentation Center is a subscription based reference and publishing service offering searchable access to the full text of hundreds of current, recent, and back issues of a growing number of philosophy journals and series.

http://proxy3.noblenet.org/login?url=http://www.pdcnet.org.proxy3.noblenet.org/pdc/bvdb.nsf/journalbrowser?openform&sort=alpha
http://secure.pdcnet.org/collection
Religion and Philosophy - Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
A subset of Academic OneFile, courtesy of MBLC & MLS
This custom collection provideds coverage of different religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are included. A subset of other InfoTrac resources, courtesy MBLC
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search the digital archive of core scholarly journals in all disciplines, plus ARTstor images. Merrimack's subscription included Arts & Sciences I-XIII, Biological Sciences, Business II-IV, Health & General Science, Ireland Archive, Jewish Studies and Sustainability collections. JSTOR has also added additional resources for the COVID-19 emergency through June 30, 2022.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search this Project Muse Standard Collection of humanities, arts and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

Racism
United States or America or Usa or U.S
Anti-oppression
Anti-racism
Coloniality
Decoloniality
Interdependence
*Rhetoric
Philosophy
African diaspora
Humanism
African philosophy
Philosophical literature
Liberalism