Selected Library Search Tools for SOC3100
SocINDEX is a database that offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Use SocINDEX to search by keyword and sociological thesaurus terms for articles on all sociology topics with full text from 300 journals plus books, monographs and conference papers.
Use ProQuest's Sociology Database to find international literature of sociology and social work, including journals and over 500 dissertations that may not be included in MackSearch.
Think of MackSearch like Google, but created specifically for McQuade- easy searching but with more credible results. MackSearch does a combination search of the NOBLE Catalog as well as most of our databases, so typically you'll get a lot a results back. This can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but fortunately, you have several options to refine and limit your results list to find exactly what you're looking for. In MackSearch you'll find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming media, news briefs, and more.
Google Scholar's database indexes items Google considers "scholarly," including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. Some, but not all, articles found in Google Scholar will be accessible via McQuade Library.
A nice feature of Google Scholar is that it can link to full text articles in McQuade's e-collections- activate your library links in GS to make sure you're linking to full text!
