HIS 3991 - European History Methodology and Senior Thesis (Vorderer)

MackSearch

Think of MackSearch like Google, but created specifically for McQuade- easy searching but with more credible results. MackSearch does a combination search of the NOBLE Catalog as well as most of our databases, so typically you'll get a lot a results back. This can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but fortunately, you have several options to refine and limit your results list to find exactly what you're looking for. In MackSearch you'll find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming media, news briefs, and more.

Finding Peer-Reviewd Articles in MACKsearch

1. Enter the keywords (the main points of the research) into the search boxes 
2. After the initial search, you'll want to use the limiters on the left-hand side 
3. Select "Full-Text" and "Peer-Reviewed."
4. Set the date range- usually looking at the last 10 years is a good starting point 
5. Select "Academic Journals"
6. Take a look at your results list. Click on titles that stand out to you and read the abstract. If the article seems promising, consider reading the full text (which will be linked in the left-hand side of the record page).

• If your not finding articles that support your research, try changing up the keywords by thinking of synonyms or alternate terms, as well as different aspects of your topic. Depending on what keywords you use, you'll get different results back.

Finding News Articles in MACKsearch

1. Enter the keywords (the main points of the research) into the search boxes 
2. After the initial search, you'll want to use the limiters on the left-hand side 
3. Select "Full-Text" 
4. Set the date range- usually looking at the last 10 years is a good starting point 
5. Select "News"
6. Take a look at your results list. Click on titles that stand out to you and read the abstract. If the article seems promising, consider reading the full text (which will be linked in the left-hand side of the record page).

• If your not finding articles that support your research, try changing up the keywords by thinking of synonyms or alternate terms, as well as different aspects of your topic. Depending on what keywords you use, you'll get different results back.

Additional Information About MACKsearch:

• When you click on a title from your results list, you'll be brought to the record page. Here you find all of the bibliographic information needed for the citation, as well as an abstract (summary) that can help you determine if you'd like to pursue the full text. 
• PDF of the full-text is linked on the left-hand side of the record page
• To print an article, save it to Google drive, or to email the article, go to the Tools on the right-hand side of the record page. 
• Citations can also be found in the Tools on the right-hand side of the record page.

NOBLE Catalog

Use the NOBLE Catalog to find books, e-books, dvds, and streaming videos from McQuade, as well as the 26 other libraries in our consortium (NOBLE). If another library has something you want, request it through interlibrary loan (ILL) at no charge and pick it up at the Help Desk on the first floor when it arrives.

World History in Context

Find world history information from full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Euromonitor Passport

Find current country profiles & briefings, future demographic reports, consumer lifestyles reports and international consumer statistics not in MACKsearch. Useful for economics, sociology, political science & business.

European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750

A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 with topics such as native Americans, natural disasters, disease outbreaks and slavery.

For the complete list of databases, check out the A - Z List.
 

Off-Campus Access Help.