Reference Sources - GCS 2000 - Introduction to Cultural Studies (Saenz)

Online Reference Shelf

Academic OneFile - Gale This link opens in a new window
Search 8,000 academic journals in all disciplines plus the New York Times and podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN and others. Courtesy MBLC & MLS.
Biography - Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Find biographies of people, searching by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth and death date, and of course by name. Courtesy Massachusetts Library System.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Free site available to all. See also Britannica sources provided by the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners for Children, Young Adults, Reference and Escolar Online.

Britannica Spanish Language Center
Portal to Spanish language versions of the Britannica: Enciclopedia Moderna for high school and older, and to Escolar Online for elementary and high school students. Courtesy MBLC and MLS.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of reference sources - dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases - for topic overviews and links to our other online resources. Includes mind map/concept map search feature.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Find introductory articles in all disciplines, business plans, directories and more.
MasterFILE Premier - EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search magazines, reference books, primary sources, and photos, maps and flags in this general multidisciplinary collection.

Virtual Reference Shelf
~ Library of Congress

Your WLC Librarian

Subjects: Art & Architecture, Career, Communication, Criminology, Education & Social Policy, English, History, Humanities, Music, Performing Arts, Social Sciences, Theatre, Writing

What are Reference Sources?

Reference sources are available in general or subject specific contexts and in print or online formats.

Examples:

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Almanacs
Glossaries
Handbooks
Atlases
Bibliographies
Indexes

Reference materials are good starting points for research projects because they can provide:

background or introductory information on a topic
terminology or additional keywords to use in further searches
a bibliography listing other materials on a topic

Remember: Only 1 reference source will be accepted for your final paper. Wikipedia entries, texts (theoretical or otherwise) and other artifacts seen in class will not count towards your 4 source requirement. The artifact you are examining will not count towards your 4 source requirement.

Reference Books/E-Books

Below are selected reference books about World Languages and Cultural Studies. Be sure to browse the reference shelves on the 2nd floor between the following call numbers to find more materials:

French language: PC 2001- PC 3761
French literature: PQ 1- PQ 3999
France history: DC 1 - DC 947
Spanish language: PC 4001- PC 4977
Spanish literature: PQ 6001- PQ 8929
Spain history: DP 1- DP 402
Italian language: PC 1001 - PC 1977
Italian literature: PQ 4001 - PQ 5999
Italy history: DG