Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMH5100 Trauma and Crisis Intervention (Plocha) Fall 2020

Selected Search Tools for CMH

MackSearch

Think of MackSearch like Google, but created specifically for McQuade- easy searching but with more credible results. MackSearch does a combination search of the NOBLE Catalog as well as most of our databases, so typically you'll get a lot a results back. This can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but fortunately, you have several options to refine and limit your results list to find exactly what you're looking for. In MackSearch you'll find books, e-books, journal articles, streaming media, news briefs, and more.      

Finding Peer-Reviewd Articles in MackSearch

  1. Enter the keywords (the main points of the research) into the search boxes 
  2. After the initial search, you'll want to use the limiters on the left-hand side 
  3. Select "Full-Text" and "Peer-Reviewed."
  4. Set the date range- usually looking at the last 10 years is a good starting point 
  5. Select "Academic Journals"
  6. Take a look at your results list. Click on titles that stand out to you and read the abstract. If the article seems promising, consider reading the full text (which will be linked in the left-hand side of the record page).
  • If your not finding articles that support your research, try changing up the keywords by thinking of synonyms or alternate terms, as well as different aspects of your topic. Depending on what keywords you use, you'll get different results back.

NOBLE Catalog

Use the NOBLE Catalog to find books, e-books, dvds, and streaming videos from McQuade, as well as the 26 other libraries in our consortium (NOBLE). If another library has something you want, request it through interlibrary loan (ILL) at no charge and pick it up at the Help Desk on the first floor when it arrives. 

PsychINFO

Use PsychINFO to search summaries of articles, chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines from the health and social sciences including business, linguistics and law. PsychINFO stays very current, updating their content twice a week. Find articles from nearly 2,500 journals from 1597-present day.   

Psychology Collection

Psychology Collection explores what makes people "tick" from childhood to death. This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.

Use These Databases to Find Articles

For the complete list of Databases, check out the A - Z List.