[Edit mode is disabled for mapped boxes]

In your citation, the elements should be listed in the following order:

1. Author.
2. Title of source.
3. Title of container,
4. Other contributors,
5. Version,
6. Number,
7. Publisher,
8. Publication date,
9. Location.

Each element should be followed by the corresponding punctuation mark shown above.

The general format for any MLA citation:

• Author. Title. Title of container (do not list container for standalone books, e.g. novels), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs URL or DOI). 2^nd container’s title, Other contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location, Date of Access (if applicable).

APA Tips:

• All authors' names should be inverted (i.e., last names should be provided first).
• Authors' first and middle names should be written as initials.
• Give the last name and first/middle initials for all authors of a particular work up to and including 20 authors
• Reference list entries should be alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.
• For multiple articles by the same author, or authors listed in the same order, list the entries in chronological order, from earliest to most recent.
• When referring to the titles of books, chapters, articles, reports, webpages, or other sources, capitalize only the first letter of the first word of the title and subtitle, the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and proper nouns.
• Italicize titles of longer works (e.g., books, edited collections, names of newspapers, and so on).
• Do not italicize, underline, or put quotes around the titles of shorter works such as chapters in books or essays in edited collections.
• Present journal titles in full.
• Italicize journal titles.
• Maintain any nonstandard punctuation and capitalization that is used by the journal in its title.
• Capitalize all major words in the titles of journals. Note that this differs from the rule for titling other common sources (like books, reports, webpages, and so on) described above.
• Capitalize the first word of the titles and subtitles of journal articles, as well as the first word after a colon or a dash in the title, and any proper nouns.
• Do not italicize or underline the article title.
• Do not enclose the article title in quotes. 
• All lines after the first line of each entry in your reference list should be indented one-half inch from the left margin. This is called hanging indentation.

This guide provides advice for creating citations to manuscript materials held in Special Collections. In general, citations should provide sufficient detail for locating items. Each citation should include information that will identify the specific item used. Arrange this information in the following three categories:

Description of item:

• form of communication (memorandum, diary, interview, etc.)
• names of sender and recipient for a letter, speaker and audience for a speech or delivered paper, author and title for a publication or report, names of interviewer and individual interviewed, etc.
• date and other information needed for clarity (such as city and state for a speech)

Location information:

• collection name
• series and subseries, when applicable
• box number
• file or folder number

Identify the repository:

• Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Sample Citations:

The following citations are expanded from the footnote formats recommended in The Chicago Manual of Style (SEE BELOW for more information on Chicago Style citation formatting).

Letter:

L. Brezhnev to J. William Fulbright, July 7, 1973. J. William Fulbright Papers, series 48, subseries 16, box 42, folder 3. Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Diary, Memoir, Etc.:

Mary Bacon Bond, commonplace book, May 4, 1836. Martin Family Papers (MC 859), series 2, box 1, folder 8.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Report:

Institute of Distribution, "The Case for--the Case Against: The Utterback-Robinson-Patman Bill," 34-36. Joseph Taylor Robinson Papers, series 9, subseries 2, box 215, folder 4.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Oral History:

Mrs. Alice West, interview by Mary Celestia Parler, December 11, 1954, "Fourth of July and Christmas Customs," transcript. Folklore Collection, box 3, folder 32.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Musical Composition:

Florence Price, Symphony in E Minor, orchestral score. Florence Price Papers (MC 988), series 2, subseries 4, box 3, folder 5.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Literary Draft:

John Gould Fletcher, poem, "I Had Scarcely Fallen Asleep." John Gould Fletcher Papers, series 1, subseries 1, box 3, folder 24.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Photographs:

Photograph of Daisy Bates with John F. Kennedy at the White House. Daisy Bates Papers (MC 582), series 4, subseries 4, box 9, photograph number 57.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.

Photograph by J. Laurence Charlton of a migrant worker family. J. Laurence Charlton Collection, group 3, number 12.Special Collections, University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.