Picking a Paper Topic
Deciding on a paper topic that interests you can sometimes be challenging. Here are some ideas to help you find an appropriate research topic:
1) Pick a topic from a newspaper or magazine article;
2) Pick a topic from a news story you saw on television, heard on the radio, or read online;
3) Find a topic in an online resource, such as:
- CQ Researcher - Provides in-depth coverage of current events.
- National Newspapers 27 - Newspapers from all over the country, each with its own unique geographic perspective.
- Newspaper Source - National & International newspapers sources, including television & radio news transcripts.
4) Take a look at the following website for some good ideas:
- Argumentative Essay Topics (via Glendale Community College--Arizona)
A list of possible paper topics with suggested thesis statements and links to relevant web sites. - Best Information on the Web
Hot paper topics by St. Ambrose University Library - Google Directory - Society -- Issues
Google's online directory of web resources addressing a variety of societal issues - Subject Guide for Hot Topics Supersites
San Diego State University
5) Look through some reference sources, either in print in the library or online.
Online Reference Shelf
McQuade Library subscribes to a few online reference sources.
- Brittanica Online
A premiere encyclopedia and suite of reference sources, including an atlas, historical timelines, country data and a quotation database. - Credo Reference
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles. - Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. - Reference UniverseSearch the complete indexes of more than 10,000 reference titles find just the right article(s) to begin your research, build a bibliography and establish a solid research foundation.
What about Wikipedia?
For most topics, it's a good idea to use and cite scholarly works rather than Wikipedia.
Visit McQuade's "Wikipedia: Researchers Beware" page for more information.
Contact a Librarian |
Description
Loading content... please wait




