Selected Print Journals
A sampling of journals are listed below. These can be found on the second floor in the Periodicals Room.
- Augustinian studies
Call Number: [Augustinian Studies] BR65.A9 A9
Print: v. 1 (1970) - - Catholic Historical Review
Call Number: [Periodical] BX1404 .C3
Print: v. 36 (1950) - v. 61 (1975); v. 65 (1979) - v. 85 (1999); v. 87 (2001) - - Christian scholar's review
Call Number: [Periodical] BR1 .C63
Print: v. 26 (1996) - v. 32 (2002) - History of Religions
Call Number: [Periodical] BL1 .H5
Print: v. 8 (1968) to v. 25 (1986)
Microfilm: v. 26 (1986) - v. 44 (2005) - The Homiletic and pastoral review
Call Number: [Periodical] BV801 .H7
Print: v. 70 (1969) to v. 96 (1995) - Interpretation
Call Number: [Periodical] BR1 .I5
Print: v. 27 (1973) - v. 57 (2003) - A Journal of Church and State
Call Number: [Periodical] BV630 .A1
Print: v. 11 (1969) - v. 41 (1999) - The Journal of ecclesiastical history
Call Number: [Periodical] BR140 .J6
Print: v. 17 (1967) - v. 36 (1985)
Microfilm: v. 37 (1986) - v. 55 (2004) - Journal of Theological Studies
Call Number: [Periodical] BR1 .J8
Print: v. 20 (1969) - v. 36 (1985)
Microfilm: v. 37 (1986) - v. 55 (2004) - Studies in religion. Sciences religieuses
Call Number: [Periodical] BL1 .S6
Print: v. 1 (1971) to v. 31 (2002)
Recommended Article Databases
For the complete list of Library Databases, check out the A - Z List.
For off campus access, use the 14 digit number on the back of your MACKCard.
- Academic OneFileCntains 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. In addition it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as full-text New York Times content to 1995.
- Academic Search Premier
A large academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,500 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. With more than 600 journals, the database includes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records for journal articles, more than 200,000 essay citations, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Links are provided to 100,000 full text articles from more than fifty journals, and is produced by the American Theological Library Association. - Catholic Periodical Literature Index
The product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Library Association, this database covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes over 380,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. - Directory of Open Access JournalsFull text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals..
- Expanded Academic ASAPFrom arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
- General OneFileA one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
- JSTORA searchable digital archive containing back-issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It contains complete runs of these scholarly journals, many of which date from the 1800s. Note: the most recent 3 to 5 years of archive are frequently embargoed.
- Project MUSE"Project MUSE® is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, user-friendly online access to over 300 humanities, arts and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is the sole source of complete, full-text version of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies."
- ProQuest Social ScienceThe database includes over 510 titles, with more than 280 available in full text.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
Journal Finder
Curious to find out whether or not McQuade Library has access to a particular communications journal? Enter title in search box below:
Search for a Journal by Title/ISSN:
Interlibrary Loan
If you search the databases (or any other resource) and find articles that you want that the library does not have access to, you can request them using interlibrary loan. It may take from several days to several weeks for your articles to arrive.
Use the ILL FORM to request articles. Library staff will contact you when the article arrives and you can pick it up at the circulation desk.
Google Scholar
In addition to the library databases, you can use Google Scholar to search for journal articles.
Click here for more information about using Google Scholar.
Description
Loading content... please wait



